In Flames- Clayman Cover!

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by VESmedic, Jan 10, 2021.

1. VESmedic

VESmedic SS.org Regular

Once upon a time, In Flames put out a great record: and this was that time. clayman cover. no BS: Just tones. STL tones in fact.

Guitars: ESP horizon emg 57/66 set Jackson custom shop for main rhythms,Dimarzio Deactivator set.

Amps: main rhythms: EVH 5153 EL34 100 watt, engl 4x12 impulse response: done by Nordstrom himself, of the actual cab used on clayman.

Leads/Harmonies: my homie Mark Lewis’s 6534 green channel preset.

Drums: Mark Lewis death and darkness.

Bass:Mark Lewis for the win again, toontrack chamber bass, SSL EQ E channel, for compression only.

Mix: terrible mixing and editing skills 101: a free plugin from me, ozone 9 for some limiting and flavor, townhouse compressor, pultec/noiseash EQ, and that’s it! Check it out.

https://soundcloud.app.goo.gl/gTZCXuGP97Jk3skQ7

2. Flappydoodle

Flappydoodle SS.org Regular

I'm not an expert, but here's my thoughts:

1. Solo is too quiet. Backing is WAY too loud while the solo happens. You wanna drop that back -3 or -6dB while the solo happens.

2. Something in the upper mid range of the rhythm guitar tone is kinda annoying. It's Clayman-esque, but sounds like it's played with Fishmans or something with a real mid bump.

Also, there's clear finger sliding between the power chords in the verse, which squeaks every single time.

3. The lead guitars during chorus sound awesome

4. Drums sound great to me

5. Mastered WAY too loud. It's far louder than the real album.

3. VESmedic

VESmedic SS.org Regular

Thanks! Some of these critiques were coming I knew for sure haha. For what it’s worth this is the first time I’ve ever really played and “mixed” my own song, obviously could be better of course!