Ibanez RG2228-GK or RG2228A-BK ?

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by EstebanAliceanna17, Apr 9, 2014.

1. EstebanAliceanna17

EstebanAliceanna17 EstebanAliceanna17

Hello people this is my first post in this forum. I have been playing guitar and 5 string bass for a couple of years and after listening to Periphery and Animals as Leaders I found that it was the kind of style I nearly wanted to play and one month ago I decided to buy an 8 string guitar because as a bassist and guitarist I feel the need of having both ranges im a same instrument(I already have experience with 7 string guitar anyway:p)

My budget is not able to reach a Mayones nor any other +£1500(1800€) guitar so this post is about the Ibanez RG2228 and RG2228A , the only ERG manufacturer that I think that fits on me and the best 8 string guitars I found afordable and good for me.

I would like to get some advices about both guitars, they are basically the same but the difrence is that the RG2228 comes with EMG 808's active pickups and the RG2228A with passive DiMarzio D Activators 8 pickups.... What would you choose if you were going to play various styles like Djent(Periphery), Progressive metal(Dream Theatufer) and the fussion of jazz and metal of Animals as Leaders? A defined, crunch and with body low end with mellow meedles, bright highs and a high output? And if I want to change their pickups for another ones?which one would be better to modify? Thank you.

2. Obsidian Soul

Obsidian Soul SS.org Regular

I'd get the RG2228A.I've heard more good about the D Activators than the 808s,but Periphery did use 808s for Ji.Tosin Abasi used 808x for awhile.If the DAs don't satisfy you,I'd go for Ionizers,the Sentient/Pegasus,or BKP Juggernauts.I haven't played these,but I know that they were made for that type of tone.If you go with the RG2228,you can still try out the 808Xs or 57-8/66-8.

3. Silence2-38554

Silence2-38554 SS.org Regular