Ibanez BTB 35" for a F# tuning... Doable? :)

Discussion in 'Extended Range Guitars' started by Vehuel, Sep 16, 2020.

1. Vehuel

Vehuel Reach the Light

Hello,

As an 8 strings guitarist I'd like to have a Bass soon and this model catches my attention:
    https://www.ibanez.com/usa/products/detail/btb1936_1p_01.html

I just love it in terms of aesthetics, but I don't know anything about bass.
    The only thing I'd like to is to tune it in F#BEADG to match my 8 string guitar.

Do you think a 35" scale can be enough to have this "8 strings guitar tuning"?
    Or should I look for a 37"?

I'm hesitating with a Skervesen Bronto bass Fanned frets 37", but I don't know if the extra cash could really worth it. I need a F# bass that will be used for Periphery covers for example, as well (and mainly) as pop/funk music.

Please help! :)
    Thank's!

2. akinari

akinari SS.org Regular

35" can handle it. You'll need a string somewhere between the 160 (bare minimum) and 180-something range, but I think 35" is just fine for the tuning.

3. Dayn

Dayn silly person

It's doable. My 35" bass's electronics weren't entirely cut out for it though. I'd certainly prefer at least 37", but if you're fine with 35" you can make it work.

4. Vehuel

Vehuel Reach the Light

Thank's so much for your replies.

I fear the 35" scale to be not as good as 37" scale to handle the power of the low F#...

I read everything and the opposite, according to some guys, even on a 37" scle, the F# is not as great as it should be...

I'm wondering if the scale is the main reason, or the gauge of strings or anything...
    I know amplifiers can do the job too, but the goal is to play mainly on my Axe FX, to record parts.

Do you think the BTB I shown could be nice for it, according to the scale and electronics? (as it might has an importance on the final tone)

Thank's!

5. Thaeon

Thaeon Cosmic Question Asker