I got sick of playing (electric) guitar so I bought an ukulele (whining content)

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Zhysick, Sep 17, 2019.

1. Zhysick

Zhysick SS.org Regular

I've been playing guitar for about 20 years. I started playing classical guitar, but always felt the instrument uncomfortable (it just clamps my left hand A LOT with the high amount of static positions and all that) but I just love the sound. But I am what can be described as a "metalhead" so soon I started playing electric guitar, so mainly metal and rock music: a bit of blues and jazz, sure, some funky rhythms and all that, but mainly metal.

It's been two decades and I have done NOTHING. Have been in a few bands just for a few days (work, studies, distance...) and now the "adult life" (work, debts, you all know) don't allow me to go to lessons or to be in a band (I have to travel a lot with the work and each time is, at least, for four weeks so thats a very severe NO when looking for bands).

Last year, after lefting a band after about three months practicing and composing, a friend and I started a project: writing and recording in his home studio to at least do 5 or 6 tracks, something that could be called an album hopefully but working I got a finger of my left hand broken so I had to stop playing for a few months, the project went from cold to frozen and I slowly stopped playing the guitar. From time to time I picked up the guitar and played for a few hours but everytime it was just uninspiring, boring and at the end tiring.

Three days ago I picked up the guitar as usual "at least to keep the fingers moving to be ready for the day the inspiration makes its comeback" and opposed to that I just had a very bad rupture with the guitar: I really got sick of playing.

What usually was boring sounded insulting and the despair became pure anger.