How to speed up the process/minimize trial & error while mixing/mastering?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by KailM, Jan 28, 2019.

1. KailM

KailM SS.org Regular

Hello --

I'm not sure what all to ask, really. At this point, I'm not a newb anymore, but I'd sure like to speed up my workflow when it comes to the finishing touches on mixes/masters.

I am nearing completion of a full-length album that I began 4 years ago, and it's been agonizing (but also supremely rewarding at the same time). I learned all I know about recording while writing and creating the album, and thus had to backtrack a bit, as I got better and better at mixing and arrangements, then had to go back to "finished" songs and update them with better techniques.

I'll try not to drag this out too long, so I'll cut to the chase. I have a mastering chain that works pretty well to get the sound I want. It is pretty minimal, just very light EQ, light compression, and limiting (no more than 2db reduction.) On my mixes, I have tried to more or less get them fairly comparable before mixing them down and mastering them.

The problem is, when I think I've mastered the tracks and then compare them with the truly finished ones, I always go through a trial and error period where I have to go back to the mix, tweak it, then re-master it, etc. I have most of the album ready to go and sounding amazing (to me, at least), but I just finished my last song, and, even though I thought it was ready, after burning it to a CD it sounds totally weird compared to the rest of the songs.

I'm pretty sure it has way too much low-end in the bass guitars, which is, after mastering, drowning-out the drums. In a way, it almost makes it sound like my riffs don't match the tempo anymore and seems to mess with the timing in other ways. I know that's probably just an illusion created by the compression/limiting messing with the overall levels. But I thought I was pretty light-handed with that stuff.