How to get a lazy F@$K to exercise?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle, Health, Fitness & Food' started by possumkiller, Jan 18, 2013.

1. possumkiller

possumkiller Square Dance Caller

Ok so ever since I got out of the army in 2009 and was no longer forced to exercise every day, I have been getting fat as hell. It is shameful and I am tired of it. However, while I am mentally motivated to get off my ass and do something about it and I DO sometimes actually go out and run (maybe a week and a half stretch every couple of months or so I will go run around a local lake every other day), I cannot keep myself physically motivated to actually exercise.

I work, I'm a full time student, and the rest of the time I have to somehow fit in taking care of homework while taking care of my baby boy as well. My wife is dieting and exercising when I am at school or work but, I never seem to have time to and when I do I am so exhausted from the rest of my day that I can't bring myself to get up and do anything.

2. Rook

Rook Electrifying

For me, I have to make sure I'm eating and sleeping well first. If I've got all that in line and I have the mental attitude, just getting started and forcing myself to get into a routine for a week or two is enough to get the momentum I need to keep it up.

How well do you eat? How regularly? How's your sleep?

3. possumkiller

LOL Sleep....

EDIT: Seriously though, my diet is kinda all over the place. Quitting smoking gave me a hell of a sweet tooth so I'm always snacking on something. I started replacing that with beef jerky though. High sodium I know but a lot less fat and calories. Sleep is secondary right now. The kid wakes up at odd hours of the night for feeding.

4. irondavidson

irondavidson SS.org Regular

I don´t really need to exercise, as i´m climbing for work. Its kind of a full time work out, but i still do some work outs at home too. That´s because my wife does all kind of training all the time and its fun to join in.