How to find the right teacher?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by nanthil, May 11, 2020.

1. nanthil

nanthil SS.org Regular

Warning: This might come across as condescending, elitist, or egotistical, but that can't be further from the truth. I'm trying to find a teacher that suits my learning style, interests, and experience, and the market is so saturated I need some way of describing the difficulty I'm experiencing in my search. So please take the rest with a grain of salt. Teachers: Please don't be offended or insulted, I know (hope) good teachers are out there and I know most students aren't interested in the kind of mastery that is expected from other instruments. This is just my best attempt at expressing my frustration in my search.

---------------------

I have been playing guitar now for nearly 20 years, I've learned everything on my own until I took classical guitar in college for a time. After college, I have been playing and studying on my own and feeling stagnant. In the past I always had a classmate, a friend, other youtube content to turn to. Now I'm just a plain old adult who doesn't have any musician friends anymore. I desperately need a coach, someone to point out where I can improve, how and what to study, etc. tailored to my ability and stage in life.

When I look out into the world for a teacher, I find so many beginner or hack guitarists only "teaching" kids how to read a chord chart, or "teaching" students by tabulating and regurgitating the songs the student wants to learn, or one-trick pony blues jocks who don't have any real theory knowledge, but just tons of experience and a killer tone but don't really make for great teachers. Other people will recommend a "great guitar teacher" because to them "great" means they learned a few chords, or got them playing their favorite song, but the guy turns out to be a self-taught acoustic praise-and-worship leader who recommends only playing with floppy picks because they sound "soft".