How does this tone sound? + Mixing Question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Venza, Feb 13, 2016.

1. Venza

Venza SS.org Regular

I tried to make a tone through my Line6 POD500X (should've gottten that axe fx ii x_x). My first time making one since all the presets aren't really good for metal in my opinion. I just found a good amp and played with the settings. I didn't really know what I was doing. Well, except for cutting out the low end and trying to squeeze the tone out of it.

https://youtu.be/7nQewpiecUk

Note: I am aware that this is extremely basic but I just made it in like 30 minutes. Plus, I am not that amazing at guitar. I'm still learning.

Also, question. When you're recording guitars, do you add effects like reverb, compression, delay, etc., just DI with no effects and add the effects within the DAW (like this) or or do you leave it in the effects chain and recording it directly (like this).

Is there a general rule/guidelines to follow when setting up your effects chain?

Thanks in advance!! :)

2. Slaeyer

Slaeyer SS.org Regular

First of all I have to say that I'm not a pro either, but also just started recording and mixing....

I would always try to record the regular signal without any effects along with a separate DI-track.
    This way you can always tweak your effects in context of the whole mix. If the worst-case happens your basic amp sound does not fit in the mix you can just use the DI track for reamping.

David

3. Venza

Venza SS.org Regular

That's actually pretty smart. Thanks for the tip!!

4. torqueofficial

torqueofficial Torque

Yeap, definitely record just DI with an amp sim and then do whatever you want with it later.

5. Venza

Venza SS.org Regular

Right. I use a Line6 PODHD500X so that acts as my audio interface, but if I didn't have that what would the DI setup look like

My Setup: Guitar > PODHD > PC > Amp Modeler

Another Setup: Guitar > Audio Interface > PC > Amp Modeler