How do these amps sound at bedroom volume?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by angl2k, Feb 3, 2016.

1. angl2k

angl2k SS.org Regular

Being a metal bedroom guitarist I currently use an Engl Thunder for my bedroom jamming. It sounds pretty decent but I'm looking for a more versatile amp (the Thunder has shared eq+gain). I'm boosting the Thunder with an Empress EQ pedal.

So reading through the reviews and drooling at amp specs I want to hear some opinions about these amps at bedroom volume:
    • Engl Powerball 2
    • Engl Savage
    • PRS Archon
    • EVH 5150
    • Mesa Boogie Mini Rectifier 25
    • Peavy 6505 Plus

Currently on my shortlist are the Archon and Powerball since I heared these sound pretty good at lower volumes. Any opinions are welcome!

2. Krazy Kalle

Krazy Kalle SS.org Regular

Wouldn't a mini variant of one them be better for only bedroom volume?

Like the Peavy 6505 MH or the Engl E606 Ironball Head?
    I heard they're still loud enough for more than just [email protected] jamming,
    just in case you change your mind.

3. angl2k

angl2k SS.org Regular

I like the idea of mini amps but most of them have shared EQ which I've grown to hate :/

Mesa Mini rectifier seems fine in terms of versatility but I heared Mesa's are hard to dial in and sound much better when cranked.

4. Sean Richardson

Sean Richardson Onedge Custom

Honestly, if you can stretch it, AXFX or Kemper and decent monitors (or even headphones).

I own a MkIV, a Soldano HR25, have had (in the quest for bedroom tones):

Mini Recto, Dark Terror, Jim Root Terror, Mk V 25, Engl Ironball, EVH5153...

The "best" is the Soldano, but it's a tube amp and still needs volume.

The AXFX I use DAILY and my 7 year old daughter can sleep in the next room... If you want metal at low volume... Its digital

5. angl2k

angl2k SS.org Regular