Bassman1

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to recording at home, and I've been having a hard time getting the right bass tone. So, I'm wondering what everyone else is doing.

For context, I'm recording math metal/metalcore that's inspired by TesseracT, Architects, ABR, etc. My DAW is Reaper, and I'm using it to also program drums. I've got guitars on my latest song recorded, and I've been working on getting the bass ready.

I'm using an Ibanez SR900 w/ active Bartolinis, going into a Darkglass B7K Ultra and Markbass 1x15 combo amp. I'm loving the tones I can get in the room. Getting that recorded has been a different story though.

I am using a DI from my Darkglass preamp, as well as a DI from my amp. So, two tracks total for bass. The Darkglass has a cab sim on it, and I'm using Wall of Sound plugin for my amp DI.

But, I just can't seem to find a tone I like. My guitars are recorded mid-heavy and have the lows all rolled off. I've tried boosting the lows and low mids on my bass in order for it to cut through the mix and not compete with the guitar. But, it still just sounds... Meh.

What is everyone using to get their bass tones dialed in, especially for a metal context? I'm curious to see what the tricks of the trade are.

Thanks for any and all tips !

Sam Hyland

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
My current method might be considered a bit of a cop-out by some but I prefer to track (or program if I’m being REALLY lazy) a clean DI for bass and then use an amp sim with the drums playing to dial in the tone.

I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve spent hours dialling guitar and bass tones in solo only to find they don’t mesh with the other instruments resulting in a very disjointed overall sound.

In your case with your gear I’d track through an amp sim and then reamp if possible through your darkglass/markbass. Always listen to tones in context with the mix otherwise you end up using drastic EQ to get it to fit.