Help with first seven string.

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by TomTom8theworld, Jun 16, 2013.

Tags:
  1. TomTom8theworld

TomTom8theworld SS.org Regular

I'm new to the world of 7-string guitars and was thinking about buying one soon, but i don't really know what to get as a first. I'm not really into ibanez and they're really all i've seen. i currently use a 6-string schecter and was thinking about getting a 7-string but they're so expensive! so i'm entirely sure on what to do. Any recommendations or advice? thanks in advance.

2. Mike

Mike The Traveler

howdy and welcome to the wonderful world of ss.org my friend.

Can you elaborate a little more on exactly what you're looking for in a 7 string guitar? i.e. Electronics, scale length, wood choices, hardware, price range. That can help us members better tailor suggestions to your needs.

I will go ahead and give you some suggestions any way though. As this will be your first, and most likely not your last, you may want to look used. Schecter 7 strings can be found used everywhere in the $250-$400 usd range. It's probably not too much different in the England. I had a hellraiser 7 for a while that I got used. An $850 guitar was only $400 used, not too shabby. Schecter Omens are affordable 7's, but if you want something a little better, I'd say save up a little more and get an ESP LTD MH417.

3. Bleach31

Bleach31 SS.org Regular

As he said, a little more info would help, and definitely check out the used market. If you were from the states I would recommend an Agile, as they can be had very cheap. The only downside is they seem to be hit or miss in the lower end and returns (from what I've gathered) aren't accepted outside of the U.S.

4. TomTom8theworld

thanks very much guys, i'll post back with the specifics in a bit :)

5. RickyCigs

RickyCigs Banned

Have you looked into the Damien or omen series schecters? They're priced pretty cheap.