Help Me Understand Tablature

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Kellz, Aug 2, 2021.

1. Kellz

Kellz SS.org Regular

Hello, I'm pretty new to playing the guitar, I picked it up again after almost 20 years and went directly for a 7 string!

The new self titled Erra record inspired the sh** out of me and made me pick up the guitar again.

Trying to understand their tablature is not easy, especially all the symbols. I'm looking for good resources on how to read it all. I found some but they seem rather old and outdated.

Here are some examples of songs I like to learn myself but I don't understand all of the tablature.
    (I know they are really hard to play and probably not the best for a beginner).

https://bit.ly/39YhpE6
    https://bit.ly/3hY0g0l
    https://bit.ly/3bRiL4R

I found myself having a better time learning a song with not so complicated tabs simply because I don't fully understand what I have to do. The best source I found so far with a tablature table is this one but it still does not cover everything:

https://www.guitartricks.com/blog/guitar-tab-symbols

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

Hi.

If you have specific questions, I bet people will answer them more quickly.

The way the tabs are written, those numbers in circles with the equals sign and letters tell you the tuning of the song. For example 1 = C# tune the first string (the smallest one) to C#.
    The note that is the black circle with a single stem coming out of it is a quarter note. The part that shows that symbol "= 200" means that there are 200 quarter note beats per minute. If you have a metronome, you set it to 200.
    dist. guit. means Distorted guitar.