Help Me Choose a Pickup for my ARZ307

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by Chocopuppet, May 13, 2012.

1. Chocopuppet

Chocopuppet Woof Bark Woof

So, just got this thing and I'm lovin' it, but like all stock Ibanez pickups, they must be replaced. :squint: So, I'm looking for some advice. I'm new to the whole "seven-strings" thing, so I need some help.

The neck pickup does not need to be replaced right away. It actually gives some really buttery leads, which I love. It's a good pickup. For stock Ibanez, it's incredible. I'll probably replace it down the line, but money is scarce.

However, I need to replace the bridge pickup. It's just too muddy for my tastes and wasn't built to handle anything below a low B. So, Without further ado, here's what I'm looking for and what you should know:

-Bite. I want this thing to rip like a bear. Like a bear rips flesh. Big and strong. That doesn't make any sense, but that's what I want it to sound like.
    -Warmth. I also want to keep the warm, thick, and dark tone of the mahogany. Warm and huggable, like a teddy bear. The stock bridge pickup in this is plenty warm, it's just lacking the clarity I want. Oh, that's another thing.
    -Clarity. I want individual notes to sound good, and extended chords, even while under distortion. I'm not hugely into djent when it comes to my playing, but I respect it. Just the nice, thick, chunky sound that was meant to come out of this Les-Paul style guitar. Chunky, like a bear before hibernation.

So there you have it. It's a tall order, I know. Bareknuckles would be awesome, but they're out of my price-range for now :wallbash:
    I'm a big fan of dimarzios, haven't really tried anyone else.

Pickups I've considered are: D-Activator 7, Crunch Lab 7, Tone Zone 7.

Thanks a lot for your help!

2. myampslouder

myampslouder SS.org Regular