Helix 3.5 just dropped

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
Again, not sure I'm following correctly as it's been years since I've used Ableton, but if you're using MIDI that's completely different. The effects blocks have access to the processed and unprocessed signal. I don't see how that would be possible with a guitar track that isn't a DI'd signal. There would be no notes to process before the signal is sent into it.

That's essentially the same as putting all your pedals before the amp, then adding an input box after them all in front of the amp. You'd get no signal into the effects that weren't in the loop. I'm so confused how that'd even work :lol:
No offense, I think you may be misunderstanding. The midi track in Ableton is only an example of how you can route audio, while also placing an effect before an audio block. The example is not meant to be taken literally obviously because I am using a midi track as an example

I think the way it could work is if Helix Native had an audio router button that muted the main audio, and rerouted it to an audio block to be placed anywhere in the chain. I do understand what you mean by not getting signal from effects before the audio block. However, that is something Line 6 would have to account for by making sure the entire chain is considered for the main output
 

CanserDYI

Yeah, No, Definitely.
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
7,624
Location
419
@vertibration do you mean a Send/return block? Because you definitely can route the audio to external source and back into the helix if that's what you're asking?
 

MatrixClaw

Whoaaa No Way!!!
Joined
Nov 18, 2007
Messages
883
Reaction score
728
Location
Mesa, AZ
@vertibration do you mean a Send/return block? Because you definitely can route the audio to external source and back into the helix if that's what you're asking?
That's what I assumed he meant at first, but he mentioned using it in Helix Native with a tube amp. I'm guessing he wants to do some sort of 4 cable method but with a plugin? I mean... MAYBE possible, but that's kind of the point of the hardware units. If he wants to record a tube amp and then route effects in front of the amp and after it, that's not really going to work...
 

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
Yea, i mean with the software, and I know its not going to work, Im just sayin, I wish there was a way for it to somehow work. Anyway, moving on
 

ErockRPh

SS.org Regular
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
35
Reaction score
36
Huge thanks to everyone posting about the Vital distortion in front of the Sunn amps. When I first started playing with those amps I was trying my usual suspects (RAT, RAT/808, RAT/Timmy, FZ-2, etc.), and I just couldn't get it to Doom. Once I tried the Life pedal, I was instantly channelling 1990's Matt Pike and it was awesome.

FYI - a good way to freeze up your cellphone for a while is to open the UG app and try to load the tab for Dopesmoker...
 

GunpointMetal

SS.org Regular
Joined
Dec 8, 2011
Messages
3,845
Reaction score
3,094
Location
Madison, WI
No offense, I think you may be misunderstanding. The midi track in Ableton is only an example of how you can route audio, while also placing an effect before an audio block. The example is not meant to be taken literally obviously because I am using a midi track as an example

I think the way it could work is if Helix Native had an audio router button that muted the main audio, and rerouted it to an audio block to be placed anywhere in the chain. I do understand what you mean by not getting signal from effects before the audio block. However, that is something Line 6 would have to account for by making sure the entire chain is considered for the main output
What your asking is what most people would just buy the hardware instead of the software for. You theoretically could do what you want, you'd just need two instances of native running and then use your DAW routing options to get the audio in and out. I think 99% of people that want to use it that way in an actual live context would opt for the Floor or LT hardware models, or use two native instances on a DI track. Once you've got a couple AD/DA conversions going and anything else happening in your project you're going start having uncomfortable levels of latency for live playing anyways.
 

Digital Igloo

Line 6
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
110
Reaction score
133
Location
Hollywood, CA
No offense, I think you may be misunderstanding. The midi track in Ableton is only an example of how you can route audio, while also placing an effect before an audio block. The example is not meant to be taken literally obviously because I am using a midi track as an example

I think the way it could work is if Helix Native had an audio router button that muted the main audio, and rerouted it to an audio block to be placed anywhere in the chain. I do understand what you mean by not getting signal from effects before the audio block. However, that is something Line 6 would have to account for by making sure the entire chain is considered for the main output
You mean like a sidechain block? Plugins don't really have access to fancy DAW routings outside of sidechaining. Ableton can do with with their own plugins, I suppose, but 3rd-party plugins are at the mercy of plugin format standards (AAX, AU, VST 3, etc.).
 

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
No, not like sidechaining, but I understand the current restrictions. Hold up, lemme ask my boys at the Surge Discord if the CLAP format can accommodate flexible audio routing within an effect plugin......will post when I hear back from them
 

Roberto Djentz

The guy who asks too many questions
Joined
Feb 4, 2022
Messages
331
Reaction score
131
Location
Meridian, MS
Anybody got any new demos up yet using the helix after the update? I've seen a few, just curious if anyone has found the magical tone 🙌😊
 

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
You mean like a sidechain block? Plugins don't really have access to fancy DAW routings outside of sidechaining. Ableton can do with with their own plugins, I suppose, but 3rd-party plugins are at the mercy of plugin format standards (AAX, AU, VST 3, etc.).
After talking to Evil Dragon on the surge discord, we think enabling the send/receive block that is currently disabled for Helix Native would solve this issue. Using an audio interface, essentially one could use the FX loop in the tube amp with the send receive block in Helix Native to accommodate placing the audio signal anywhere in the chain?
 

Tree

-________-
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
2,911
Reaction score
1,443
Location
Chicago, IL
Anybody got any new demos up yet using the helix after the update? I've seen a few, just curious if anyone has found the magical tone 🙌😊
I finally got around to whipping something together. It’s not 100% finished (or even cleanly played :lol:), but it’s the first recording I’ve done since the update.

Guitars are quad tracked, 2L and 2R using the Badonk and Invective models. Plumes drive with the Badonk, and Horizon drive with the Invective. 3rd party IRs, but I could probably get close enough with the built in cabs if I needed to.


Also, please forgive the dinky, cheap MIDI intro. I didn’t feel like trying to cop a convincing acoustic tone since I don’t have one to record with at the moment.

Edit: forgot to mention the guitar I used. I tracked with my Legator G7, using voice 2 with the Fishman Abasi set. And lead guitars are the same chain as the Badonk rhythms just with Ping Pong delay and Glitz Verb.
 

CanserDYI

Yeah, No, Definitely.
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
7,624
Location
419
I finally got around to whipping something together. It’s not 100% finished (or even cleanly played :lol:), but it’s the first recording I’ve done since the update.

Guitars are quad tracked, 2L and 2R using the Badonk and Invective models. Plumes drive with the Badonk, and Horizon drive with the Invective. 3rd party IRs, but I could probably get close enough with the built in cabs if I needed to.


Also, please forgive the dinky, cheap MIDI intro. I didn’t feel like trying to cop a convincing acoustic tone since I don’t have one to record with at the moment.

Edit: forgot to mention the guitar I used. I tracked with my Legator G7, using voice 2 with the Fishman Abasi set. And lead guitars are the same chain as the Badonk rhythms just with Ping Pong delay and Glitz Verb.
Sounds great man, cool riffage around the 1:00 mark. Symphonic Deathpunk? Just made that up but it sounds pretty fitting haha.
 

Xaeldaren

SS.org Regular
Joined
Jan 16, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
375
Location
Ireland
I finally got around to whipping something together. It’s not 100% finished (or even cleanly played :lol:), but it’s the first recording I’ve done since the update.

Guitars are quad tracked, 2L and 2R using the Badonk and Invective models. Plumes drive with the Badonk, and Horizon drive with the Invective. 3rd party IRs, but I could probably get close enough with the built in cabs if I needed to.


Also, please forgive the dinky, cheap MIDI intro. I didn’t feel like trying to cop a convincing acoustic tone since I don’t have one to record with at the moment.

Edit: forgot to mention the guitar I used. I tracked with my Legator G7, using voice 2 with the Fishman Abasi set. And lead guitars are the same chain as the Badonk rhythms just with Ping Pong delay and Glitz Verb.

That sounds sick as hell!
 

Tree

-________-
Joined
Jun 29, 2010
Messages
2,911
Reaction score
1,443
Location
Chicago, IL
Sounds great man, cool riffage around the 1:00 mark. Symphonic Deathpunk? Just made that up but it sounds pretty fitting haha.
Thanks, homie! I can’t take credit for the riffs, it’s an old Trivium song. I dig the new sub genre name though!
That sounds sick as hell!
Thanks duder! I think the mids are perhaps a tad much, but maybe my ears are just sick of listening to this over and over. :lol:
 

Digital Igloo

Line 6
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
110
Reaction score
133
Location
Hollywood, CA
After talking to Evil Dragon on the surge discord, we think enabling the send/receive block that is currently disabled for Helix Native would solve this issue. Using an audio interface, essentially one could use the FX loop in the tube amp with the send receive block in Helix Native to accommodate placing the audio signal anywhere in the chain?
Not an engineer, but if Cubase, Logic, and ProTools can't accommodate what you want with AAX, AU, and VST plugins, I doubt I'd be able to convince the powers that be. If Helix Native ran standalone, however, we could route FX Loop blocks to and from your interfaces I/O all day.
 

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
Not an engineer, but if Cubase, Logic, and ProTools can't accommodate what you want with AAX, AU, and VST plugins, I doubt I'd be able to convince the powers that be. If Helix Native ran standalone, however, we could route FX Loop blocks to and from your interfaces I/O all day.
Ok understood......moving on...........SO WHATS GOOD WITH HELIX AMP CAPTURE :)

For real though, everyone else has some sort of Kemper style profiling. Its due time for Helix to join the fray, and make a Capture block for Helix hardware and native
 

Digital Igloo

Line 6
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
110
Reaction score
133
Location
Hollywood, CA
For real though, everyone else has some sort of Kemper style profiling.
Neural, now IK, and kinda Mooer are hardly everyone else. I suppose there's also THU, but that's software only.

The math is well-established and we pretty much know how we'd do it differently, but the jury's still out as to whether Line 6 also wants to shamelessly rip off Christoph Kemper and then have our marketing department claim we invented it. ;)
 

thebeesknees22

SS.org Regular
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
2,333
Reaction score
2,129
Location
Le baguette land, Canada
For a brief moment I thought I cared about profiling. But then I found I could get reaally close to my real amps with the current helix models and it just didn't really matter to me after that.

Like...it was kinda shocking just how close I could get to my mt-15 or my marshal dsl 2000. Sure it wasn't 100% same same, but it was close.
 

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
Neural, now IK, and kinda Mooer are hardly everyone else. I suppose there's also THU, but that's software only.

The math is well-established and we pretty much know how we'd do it differently, but the jury's still out as to whether Line 6 also wants to shamelessly rip off Christoph Kemper and then have our marketing department claim we invented it. ;)
Its not a rip off in the slightest. As is with all things, a company like Kemper comes out, others will do it their own way. Nothing wrong with that at all. In fact, it pushes technology forward. I follow a lot of guitarists on instagram, and a whole lot of them are using Quad. Line 6 could seriously turn some heads for sure.

I say Line 6 should push forward full throttle, and use all of your resources to do something amazing for everyone.
 
Last edited:

vertibration

SS.org Regular
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
444
Reaction score
268
Location
Long Island NY
For a brief moment I thought I cared about profiling. But then I found I could get reaally close to my real amps with the current helix models and it just didn't really matter to me after that.

Like...it was kinda shocking just how close I could get to my mt-15 or my marshal dsl 2000. Sure it wasn't 100% same same, but it was close.
If Line 6 had a capture block you might be singing a different tune lol. Lets wait and see
 


Top