Have you, as a musician, matured?

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by AK DRAGON, Jan 7, 2012.

1. AK DRAGON

AK DRAGON Guitar Popcicle

Just what the title asks. have you musically matured?

I'm not asking if you've improved your guitar technique by knowing X,Y,Z and can play light years better than when you started out. I am asking about your ability, as a musician, to appreciate other genres of music.

I, for one, can say I have matured quite a bit over the (20+) years.

When I started out, all I wanted to do was play Hard Rock and Heavy Metal music. Not just to annoy my parents as a rebellious teenager but that is all I wanted to play and listen to. Yes, I was a very narrow minded musician. All the teachers that my parents paid to teach me were classically trained and would only teach classical music. I had no interest in learning it but I did as it gave me the foundation of playing guitar (It was a very frustrating time). As a teenager in HS I was given BB King's Blues Master book for Christmas. I wasn't impressed but unbeknownst to me planted a seed.

Today, I still have an interest in Heavy Metal and Hard Rock. Though, it's a smaller part of my musical tastes and outlook. One could say that my taste in music has shifted immensely. I prefer to listen to Jazz, Blues, and Movie Scores as well as artists that have a more melodic feel.

2. Stealthdjentstic

Stealthdjentstic Banned

Not really, I've kind of been into most stuff from the start. So long as it's interesting its all good!

3. C2Aye

C2Aye has the groove.

Considering that I started at the age of 13, I sure hope I have :lol:

I've moved on from blues/rock to progressive metal, so I guess you could kind of call that maturing :) I've always had an appreciation on other styles of music though, I mean I've listened to classical, Baroque and Romantic music since I was young and I've always liked funk rock. I'd say I was always pretty appreciative of good music in general.

4. BucketheadRules