rippedflesh89

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to recording (I've done a fair amount of home recording but have never worked with a professional) and was wondering what process others use to track guitar. My main goal is to pick up speed through the tracking and editing process.

My current approach is to record riff by riff. I'll start with the first riff and record a bunch of takes (way more than I need so I don't need to come back to the part later). I'll work through the entire song to make sure I have plenty of material to work with during the editing process. When I have the time and feel like it, I'll play back all the tracks, keep my favorites and align them to complete the track. I also make sure I get all the takes I need for the track that day (left guitar finished in one day, right guitar on another day etc).

Some questions I have are:

- Do I have to finish tracking a part in the same day or can I take a few days to track the left guitar?

- I've been thinking about recording the entire song say 10x to have 10 takes instead of recording each riff 10x; is this a more common approach? I was thinking it may improve the quality of my takes since I won't be getting bored of playing the same part over and over again.

- Is it generally faster to edit while tracking instead of doing all the tracking and then editing later on? I haven't run into the issue yet where I don't have enough quality takes to finish a track but I can see that happening eventually.

- What are some other ways to speed this process up?

Thanks in advanced and I apologize for the n00b questions!

DudeManBrother

Hey...how did everybody get in my room?
Reaction score
Sounds like a lot of clutter to have to wade through. If you know you got it right on the second take, then takes three through ten are a waste of time and clog up the session. Editing during tracking is fine as long as you can switch back and forth to a performance mindset when it’s time to.