Guitar rig 5

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by gtrgod68, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. gtrgod68

    gtrgod68 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Location:
    Odessa, Texas
    Hey everyone, new to community. I had a general question about using software such as GR5. Does anyone use software as there main source of audio? Wanting to purchase software but not sure if you use your cabinet as the out or does anyone use powered monitors such as KRK or something similar? Will powered monitors handle heavy playing?
     
  2. fwd0120

    fwd0120 Bipedal Hominid

    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Location:
    Albany, Ga
    Do you have a decent audio interface? If not, you will struggle with latency.
    Guitar rig 5 does however, sound very good and is fairly flexible. The main shortcoming, I believe, is that it does not naively load IRs.
     
  3. gtrgod68

    gtrgod68 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Location:
    Odessa, Texas
    I honestly don't know that much about it yet, I've been watching a lot of YouTube vids and players are getting amazing sound from using software. I currently use a Ibanez Prestige rg752fx and a Line6 212, the amp just doesn't sound that great for my 7string.any advice and or links I could check out?
     
  4. mongey

    mongey SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,915
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    the gong - Australia
    do you hae a computer.

    you can downlaod gr5 for free and use it in demo mode. all features are unlocked so its a good way to see if you like it
     
  5. gtrgod68

    gtrgod68 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Location:
    Odessa, Texas
    Yes I use a MacBook Pro , thanks for the info, I'll check it out.
     

Share This Page