Great guitar builders that are also Great guitar players?

downburst82

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Just what the title says.

I'm wondering what guitar builders out there are also really excellent players as well. :shred:

I know there are a few I should be able to think of right off the bat, but its late, i'm tired and am drawing a blank. I'm sure you guys out there know of all sorts.

Also vid's of luthiers playing would be cool to see.:yesway:

ps: Mods please move if you think there is any better sub-forum (I figured either here or maybe general discussion?)

Benjamin Millar

Guitar Maker
Reaction score
Les Paul is the only one I can think of (in terms of historical significance anyway), But he wasn't really a guitar maker by profession.

It's difficult to master both building and playing, since it takes many years and a fair amount of devotion to become great at either.
Almost all makers are mediocre to good players, and there are a few players who can build guitars (Brian May for example).

shikamaru

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
wonder what’s behind the term guitar builder, as opposed to luthier, I suppose it means anyone who’ve already built a guitar even though they don’t do it professionnally right ?

there’s one guy I can think of immediately:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bV1U-cUo5CM

As far as luthiers playing, check out Ben Crowe and his awesome 7/14 based on John Petrucci’s double neck guitar:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVP1ViwYMME
I want a guitar like this so bad :)

Those are off the top of my head but I’m sure there are many others :)

Benjamin Millar

Guitar Maker
Reaction score
I figured that by "great" Shikamaru referred to hall of fame type guitar players, of which I can think of none.
Plenty of really good players / makers out there though...

WiseSplinter

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Ron Jarzombek

Not sure if he's a "great" builder, but he does build his own guitars.
He is a great player though, that's for sure.