Govan Guthrie..does he inspire you or is it just noise?

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by sharedEQ, Dec 26, 2019.

1. sharedEQ

sharedEQ SS.org Regular

He is a fusion shred master. But all of his songs that I've heard are just backing tracks for his pyrotechnics.

I am inspired by his chops, and apparently his repertoire of styles is vast, but at what point is enough enough?

Im not disparaging his musicianship, and I "get" what he's doing, but as a guitarist I just have to say a players value is so much more than how fast he can play or how many styles he can copy.

I think my objection is that he's not original, he just woodshedded more and gained more facility with fusion tropes. Not feeling it.

I'm actually a yngwie fan, go figure. But I'd much rather listen to Guthrie than bonnamassa.

2. HungryGuitarStudent

HungryGuitarStudent SS.org Regular

There’s plenty of music to fit everyone’s taste. I like his improvisation and phrasing. If you don’t like it, I’m sure you’ll find other music that inspires you.

fps likes this.
  3. Hollowway

Hollowway Extended Ranger

Meaning you like Bonamassa even less?

My guess is that you just dig classical stuff over jazz or blues. Yngwie is neo-classical. So my guess is that jazzy shredding doesn't sound as good to you as classical.

4. Leviathus

Leviathus Psychotic Monster

There's no denying that Guthrie is an incredible player, though i find myself more inclined to watch than just listen. I'd rather hear cool guitar parts in more of a band (w/ vocals,"songs", etc..) context if i want to enjoy the music. I thought he was a good fit on that Steven Wilson album a few years ago. It takes a lot for me to get into wanky instrumental "music for musicians" stuff. In Guthrie's case i'd rather watch his hands and goofy faces on youtube.

Sidebar: Anyone know what Guthrie's been up to lately? feel like i haven't heard much from his camp the last few years...

5. Avedas

Avedas SS.org Regular