Good upper-entry to mid-level e-kit?

Discussion in 'Drums & Percussion' started by JediMasterThrash, Nov 29, 2019.

1. JediMasterThrash

JediMasterThrash SS.org Regular

I'm a guitarist who just wants to pick up some drums for fun.

Space constraints and sound-level constraints mean e-kit is my only option (and I understand e-kits aren't silent). I also like having fun, and collect strange audio-distorting guitar pedals, so I think it will be fun to play drums with some of those crazy preset kits.

I have a full-size keyboard with drum kits too. But my goal isn't just to midi track. I want to whack something.

I'll likely never play it live, and won't be practicing 4 hours a day. So a pro-level kit is probably overkill.

But my minimum requirements of "doesn't suck" and "doesn't break" and "works with double-bass drum pedal" and "sounds good out of the box" and "is fun to play" I think puts me above the entry/budget category. And the consensus on the internet seems to be don't settle for any kit below 700$.

I got some good feedback on minimum #drums and cymbals in another thread. So I'm thinking something with mesh heads, double-bass compatible, snare, three toms, two crash, hi-hat, and ride.

First I was looking at the Roland TD-1DMKX, which has all mesh and adds the 4th cymbal. The downside seems the pads are rather small, and the controlbox only includes 15 preset drum kits. And there isn't any good resource on how well those kits metal.

Then I saw the Alesis Command X Mesh, which is fairly similar on paper. All mesh and the 4th cymbal. Pros are that the pads are all larger than the Roland TD-1D, and the controller has 50 factory kits vs. 15. The downside is that there's a lot of complaints that the alesis doesn't track fast playing (or double-bass) well, and misses a lot of hits. There's instructions on tweaking sensitivity and retrigger settings to fix things. But I'd really like an "unbox and play" experience.