Good Tube amp for Metal

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Mendez, Mar 14, 2011.

1. Mendez

Mendez SS.org Regular

Whats a good tube amp in the $400-600 range? I was looking at the 6505+ 1x12 combo amp, but i just wanted to know if there was anything else out there. I'm kinda new to tube amps so i wanted some knowledge/advice. :metal:

2. drenz

drenz SS.org Regular

Anything 6505 related is a great place to start. Or if you want to go a bit cheaper, look into Bugera :)

3. Tones

Tones Red paperclip trader

always gonna recommend the Peavey xxx or the ultra +.
    5150, and as stated above, bugeras are great bang for your buck! 333/333xl/6262

4. Mendez

Mendez SS.org Regular

The problem with getting an amp head would be having to get an cab though, sorta why i was thinking in about something in a combo. Whats a good combo amp from bugera? I played one a guitar center a while back, sounded pretty good but i didnt pay much attention to it since i wasnt looking for an amp.

Edit: just did a google search on the 333/333xl/6262 and they have combo versions.

Thanks for the help guys.

5. snuif09

snuif09 SS.org Regular

I really liked the 333xl combo when I played on it.
    It's really worth checking out.

6. GuitaristOfHell

GuitaristOfHell The Optimist Prime.

Any used Peavey.

7. beneharris

beneharris SS.org Regular

i loooove my 6505+ combo. great little amp, especially for as cheap as you can find them. if you can find one, get the older 5150 model. its a 2x12, and it is built a little bit better, but the 6505+ is no slouch. especially with a simple speaker change, it makes a great 1x12 for any extra heads you may have laying around

8. Dead Undead

Dead Undead New again

JCM 800 2204
    EDIT:
    Peavey Butcher
    Ibanez Tubescreamer head (I guess? The gain channel certainly is nice, but might not be "metal enough"
    I guess you could make anything a metal amp if you exchange a few parts and put the right pedal in front.

9. hxcdeathcore