Giant Steps for guitar

Discussion in 'Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle' started by buck fever, Apr 11, 2020.

1. buck fever

buck fever Contributor

Does anyone have tabs or chord changes for Coltrane’s Giant Steps on guitar?

2. Lemons

Lemons SS.org Regular

I mean this in the nicest way possible, if you need someone to provide tabs or write chord positions for you then you need to stay very far away from a piece like Giant Steps.

ElRay and ramses like this.
  3. buck fever

buck fever Contributor

Haha. Always at least one cork sniffer in a jazz room.

I’ve been playing that chart for 20 years. A friend’s kid is getting into jazz guitar and I don’t have time to give him lessons right now. I figured I’d do what I could to gather charts for him, since that’s what got me going when I was 16.

It’s that attitude that keeps tribal knowledge from being passed down. If someone wants to try to play along with something challenging, so be it. Let them stumble and fail; if they’re determined enough they’ll eventually get it. And everyone is a different type of student - nothing wrong with starting out on chord charts.

4. TGN

TGN SS.org Regular

Maybe this site is of help:

https://www.jazzguitar.be/blog/giant-steps/

Chords and some useful ideas around how to comp and solo over it.

(If someone is just getting into jazz I don't think this is a good starting point, though.)

USMarine75, bostjan and buck fever like this.
  5. Lemons

Lemons SS.org Regular

I flat out don't believe you started playing Giant Steps with any success getting into jazz at age 16 if that's what you meant. Do the kid a favour and recommend some actual approachable pieces, there's more to being a good teacher than saying have a go (and fail in this case) at anything you want. Why don't you just point him to some solid resources yourself,