Floating or anchored thumb?

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Mvotre, Mar 22, 2016.

1. Mvotre

Mvotre SS.org Regular

ok, so I started playing bass. Nice, but I'm trying some techniques, and could use some opinions.

A lot of people talk about the superiority of floating thumb technique. But some people (specially people playing for a loooong time) seens to just use anchored thumb, without problems.

What you guys use? I'm not that worried about fast (I just love funk bass and it's a fairly nice pace and want to just lay a solid, nice groove), but right now both techniques seen usable to me (anchored seens easier to control in arpeggios or riffs changing strings a lot, but I believe it's just a matter of practice). I will play a 4 string, so I believe a lot of the string muting ability of the floating thumb won't be needed. Also my bass got a nice thumb rest and that thing is comfortable as hell

Also, if anyone got examples of nice bassists playing each style, it would be helpful

2. A-Branger

A-Branger SS.org Regular

for mutting sections, specially for muted notes on a funk groove, this comes from the left hand rather than the right

now in my case I rest my thumb on the edge of the neck pickup, so my fingers would stay playing between the pups. This is for the lowest string and maybe the one before (5th and 4th in my case), IF I move to my E string to play stuff in there or between E-A strings, then my thumb rest on my low B in top of the pickup, same as I go up on the A string (I usually wont go further up than that as I dnt need it). This helps to keep my thumb closer to my playing fingers (helping with speed), plus it would mute the lowest string so they wont make a sound while you are playing as bass techniques you cant really do the " left thumb over the neck mute" like you would on a guitar

3. olejason

olejason SS.org Regular