Fishman Fluence midrange honk?

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by sevenfoxes, Jun 22, 2021.

  1. InfinityCollision

    InfinityCollision SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    407
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Cycfi sort of lets you do this with the upcoming XR2.

    Definitely not a fan of the Moderns and wish the Agile I picked up recently didn't have them. Thankfully pickups are replaceable, but I do wish I had something better in the meantime.
     
  2. angl2k

    angl2k SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    330
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Oh, bummer. Could've sworn I saw a vid of Keith Merrow where the Fishman rep adjusted some settings and the pups sounded different in the video.

    So in 2022: build to order Fishman™ pickups :)
     
  3. HeHasTheJazzHands

    HeHasTheJazzHands SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    30,283
    Likes Received:
    16,664
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    They probably use some shit that has to be tethered to a computer and/or power source. The standard Fluences already draw a shit ton of power (only last 200 hrs vs the 3000 for a set of classic EMGs or even the 1700 hours of Blackouts or the newer EMGs.)
     
  4. hensh!n

    hensh!n SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Location:
    California
    Right. It depends on the context. The Open Core bridge pickup is very clear on V1. Kind of lacking everywhere else. For me that sums up a lot of the Fishman stuff, excellent in one or two contexts, but lacking in every other. I could never find that sweet spot. If anything, I've had more success adjusting my passive pickup height and properly selecting/setting the amp.
     
    Spaced Out Ace and sevenfoxes like this.

Share This Page