First software only tone - Does it actually sound good?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by LostTheTone, Feb 19, 2021.

1. LostTheTone

LostTheTone Elegant Djentleman

I am trying to build a good, heavy distortion for A standard tuning, entirely in software. I am new to playing a seven, and relatively new to recording guitars generally, so I thought I'd post up where I've got to so far and see what people think.

I'm mostly a singer, and I want to make some instrumental backing tracks for myself so I can practice more meaningfully. I don't demand spectacular professional tone, but I do want something that's credible; good enough that I can feel good sharing demos and cover versions with other people.

The only guitar I have to work with is my SubZero Generation 7 which is cheap, and the pickups are limited (you can read the full story over in this thread) but I've done my best to work around it. The clips I posted up in the other thread were through my analogue set-up, but that isn't really working for me for recording.

I want to be able to tweak the guitar afterwards so I can mix it with vocals and programmed drums, so it's helpful to have literally everything inside my DAW. I don't have a huge amount of experience here, but after a lot of frustration I have something I am reasonably happy with.

DISCLAIMER - I am a mediocre guitarist. I picked something which has a mix of very low notes, chords, palm muting and fast chugs for demo purposes but I know I can't play it perfectly, it's a work in process.

The Industrialist New Distortion Tone

If you are interested, the unprocessed guitar track is here.

What do you think? Am I going in the right direction? What would you want to change?

For the sake of space I'll stick the technical stuff in a spoiler:

The signal chain is complicated so stick with me:
    • Dynamic compressor - Turning down frequencies below 150hz
    • Regular compressor - Pulling down the peaks to get more consistent signal level