Finger Strength and Accuracy

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by 7soundz, Oct 22, 2014.

1. 7soundz

7soundz SS.org Regular

Well I have come a long way as a self taught guitarist but I have quite a long way to go. I was wondering if some of you can share how you were able to build finger strength and develop greater accuracy in playing.

I bought a planet waves finger exercise device and while it worked well in strengthening my fingers, I am sure there is much more needed.

2. Maniacal

Maniacal SS.org Regular

Trill until you can trill no more

3. vansinn

vansinn SS.org Regular

I've slept with women for 40+ years.
    My dilk is hard as seasoned oiled wood.
    I've researched and expanded on technique.
    And yet, I feel a constant need for more..

Keep fingering, buddy..

4. Solodini

Solodini MORE RESTS!

Slow down to develop accuracy, make your movements as small as possible. Train your brain to do everything perfectly and efficiently and only increase speed when that is consistent.

For finger strength, just play more! And make motions like playing when you're not near an instrument, tapping your fingers on a table or your leg, for instance.

5. Gothic Headhunter

Gothic Headhunter Born on a Monday

this is gonna seem obvious, but actually pay attention while you play. I've come further by playing for less time but actually focusing on my technique than by playing for hours but being absent minded for most of it. If you're not paying attention, you're going to take shortcuts, and that will lead to bad technique. If you actually focus on the stuff that other guys have said and block out everything else while you play, you'll make gains in no time.

Also, legato. go through scales ascending, descending, sequences, every possible combination, that way your fingers are used to all the types of motion, not just one or two

6. StrongEverything

StrongEverything Banned

Do manual labour.

7. Adam Of Angels

Adam Of Angels The GAS Man