Favored Infrequent String Change Brand/Model These Days

Discussion in 'Standard Guitars' started by Adieu, Oct 11, 2019 at 1:05 PM.

1. Adieu

Adieu SS.org Regular

What's the people's choice in 2019? Kept hearing things like some brands declining, other brands changing formulas or something, plus there seems to be all these newer subbrands coming out

And most info seems dated or from noobs and/or "I've been using them since 1975"-type conservatives, who really wouldn't know on account of never trying anything else...

PS never mind the gauge, just what brand and subbrand/model lasts well and plays good. Not rotting or going dead quickly a top priority. For 6 string sets thx.

2. stevexc

stevexc Contributor

I've been happy with NYXLs. I change strings every couple months at this point since I'm not actively jamming on guitar. Little pricy but they seem to last, tonally speaking.

3. AkiraSpectrum

AkiraSpectrum SS.org Regular

In my experience, best tone, quality, and longevity (I don't really like coated strings all that much) are D'addario NYXL's. If you don't want to pay that much for strings then the regular D'addario's (EXL's) can't really be beaten.

cwhitey2, couverdure and gunshow86de like this.
  4. Drew

Drew Forum MVP

I wasn't overly impressed with the NYXL's for logevity - maybe a little better than regular DAddarios, but they don't really compare to coated strings.