Essential skills for being in a band

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Boofchuck, Mar 25, 2020 at 2:09 PM.

1. Boofchuck

Boofchuck SS.org Irregular

Hi everyone, I'd like to start/join a band soon. But I have little experience playing with other musicians. As such, I am wondering what you all consider essential skills and concepts for playing with others and communicating musical ideas. I'm curious what I should brush up on. Thank you all.

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

Good rhythm and a decent ear will get you very far, even if you don't know much about theory. Get used to playing along to a rhythm section, there are years worth of drum loops to mess around with.

As for developing your ear, start simple. Learn to tune by ear, and graduate to trying to figure out basic riffs and intervals. It's a lot of rote memorization at first, but it'll become second nature if you stick with it in earnest.

If you have those two things down reasonably well you should have no problem playing with others.

USMarine75 likes this.
  3. Demiurge

Demiurge Intrepid Jackass

Good preparation habits will help, too. You don't want to be that guy who is out of tune (and whose guitar can't keep in tune- pre-stretch new strings!), has dying batteries for their pickups/batteries, or needs to borrow patch cables.

Wrecklyss likes this.
  4. akinari

akinari does his own setups

It's really important to figure out your place in the band musically. Like, what comes natural for you in terms of musical contributions? Rhythm guitar parts? Leads? If you're working with another rhythm guy, are you better at locking in with him, or contributing complementary parts? Nail those down, and then work your ass off getting tighter and more efficient at doing what comes natural based on your chemistry with the other guys.