Engl power amps

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by bebbe, Apr 10, 2013.

1. bebbe

bebbe SS.org Regular

Sweden, ie In a distant galaxy, far far away
    Hi,

I got an Engl E570 preamp that I run through a VHT 2/90/2. Even though it's tight I can't help to think it is somewhat too thin sounding, will it get more brutal lower end if I pair it with an Engl 6L6 power amp? I was thinking the E840/50 or the Engl E850/100, the latter is really overkill but has the additional depth controls.

So basically this is a VHT vs Engl power amp question. Does the Engl PA colour the sound more and will it help me get a "heavier" "riffing" sound? :hbang: The VHT has KT88 which is supposed to have the bottom end of 6L6:s but feel there is something missing - more than my ability as a guitar player..

Hope this subject has not been beaten to death, did some searching but could not find too much info about this.

2. Albionic

Albionic First of the magi

i'm no expert on the gear you ae talking about but the thin sound of the engl is a known issue with these preamps. i have heard some people put a graphic equalizer in their racks to get over this issue.

3. MrPowers

MrPowers SS.org Regular

You'll probably be better off sticking with the VHT. People praise those on here and they are almost definitely more reliable than Engl power amps. I've heard of the 530 sounding thin but never the 570. Have you tried changing tubes?

4. Wizard of Ozz

Wizard of Ozz Arch-Mage of Metal

This. The 2/90/2 is a standard and has been for years. It sounds better, and is built way better than either the E840 or E850. Switching to an Engl Power Amp would be a downgrade IMHO.

5. Triple7

Triple7 The Decepticon

yea, the thin(ness) definitely shouldn't have anything to do with the VHT. VHT make incredible power amps. I own the 2/90/2 myself, and will never get rid of it.

6. GizmoGardens

GizmoGardens ECE/MetalHead