Electric sitar guitar?

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by bostjan, Nov 24, 2020.

Tags:
  1. bostjan

bostjan MicroMetal Contributor

I studied sitar years ago. I love Indian classical music, but I hate strict rules (Indian music has a lot of doozies, like most ragas can only be played at certain times of day, for example).

I've always kind of liked and also kind of hated the Danelectro Sitar Guitars.

I actually dig the tone and the idea of it being much more convenient than an actual sitar, but:
    1. The sympathetic strings don't buzz.
    2. The neck is not adjustable (and build quality is not on parr with any non-adjustable luthiers' work - the Dano necks are just cheap. I've had two myself that bowed to the point where they became unplayable)
    3. Scale length is too short.
    Etc.

Gotoh makes a replacement buzz bridge, but it seems to be universally unavailable unless you are an OEM or willing to pay over 20% more than MSRP for a used one (in the US at least), plus, it doesn't appear to be adjustable, and I've seen threads on other guitar sites where builders couldn't seem to figure out where to install them to get proper intonation.

All that said, it seems to me like a no brainer to have a regular old bridge with low angle saddles to produce the effect on a fully adjustable bridge. But probably there's some profound reason why no one takes that approach.