Ear Training For Dummies

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by troyguitar, Dec 19, 2019.

1. troyguitar

troyguitar SS.org Regular

So I've been playing guitar off and on for about 15 years now and have a decent grasp on technique and theory... but I cannot play anything at all by ear, not even Baby Shark. This year I've been trying to get back into playing more seriously and being unable to play anything without sheet music or tabs is incredibly frustrating.

What do you do to get to the point of actually learning songs if you're nearly tonedeaf? I can sit here for 3 hours trying to pick out Mary Had A Little Lamb and not figure it out - and, more importantly, not be able to hear whether I've gotten it right or wrong at any given time. Hearing chords and bass lines and harmonies in a real song is so far beyond me at this point that I don't know where to start. It seems like black magic to me.

Is there a piece of software that can start me out even simpler than nursery rhymes so that I might be able to get started from scratch?

2. SpaceDock

SpaceDock Shred till your dead

I was in the same place about 5 years ago. I tried some of those learning books and YouTube videos. While I hope you find one that helps you, they didn’t help me. What did help immensely was playing along with music. I would try to play along with very simple songs, Green Day lol, stuff that I am not very into but would be four chord rock. I would spend hours repeating the same song trying to nail the simple chord progressions just by listening, looking up the tab was cheating in my mind. For me, listening to the lowest notes really helped me find the key and then the full progression.