Do we really need seven / eight string guitars if we're not using the guitar's extended range?

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by Super Crunchy Studios, Oct 27, 2020.

1. Super Crunchy Studios

Super Crunchy Studios SS.org Regular

Hey guys

First and foremost: I play a MIJ seven string Jackson COW 7 guitar myself, and I want everybody to play whatever guitar makes them happy.

I've been playing a seven string for about six months now and I don't find myself making full use of the full range of the instrument. I play my seven like a six string, with the added enjoyment of chugging on a low B instead of a low E.

I'm aware that a seven offers additional chord voicings in the lower register due to the addition of the low B string, as well as additional chord voicing and lead playing options due to the high E string.

Now, there are metal guitarists out there who make full use of the whole range of a seven or eight string, and that's awesome. But these seem to be in the minority.

Most of the time, I've noticed that seven or eight string guitarists don't really make use of the extended range of a seven or eight string guitar. To put it more bluntly, they just chug on the guitar's lowest strings, because br00tz, and that's it.

So, without wanting to tread on anybody's toes, I'd like to discuss whether seven and eight string guitars aren't a bit of a fad, since most players don't seem making full use of their extended range.

You see, many metal bands tune six string guitars to B standard or lower. In doing so, they reach the low tuning that a seven offers, without the added complexity (additional high string).