Discussion on 5 string fretless tech death tone

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Gmork, Aug 31, 2015.

1. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

I know this is totally subjective. Just interested to hear different thoughts about tone or fx pedals used.
    Im a long time guitarist that plays tech death type stuff and have recently begun 5 string fretless bass. I think ill probably use a combination of agressive mid heavy
    clean tone and occassionally some sort of od or distortion. Thanks

2. Systolic

Systolic Active Member

Accentuate high mids + Darkglass B7K/B3K + Roundwound nickel or steel strings. That should be enough to get you started. Minor personal flavor style adjustments from there.

3. Baelzebeard

Baelzebeard Grinder of strings

The setup/string height affects tone and sustain more so on fretless than fretted.

4. Systolic

Systolic Active Member

+1

5. JPhoenix19

JPhoenix19 Playing life by ear

You can substitute the Darkglass (it's pretty pricey) for any bass OD/distortion with a blend control. I used to have a Boss ODB-3, and it works very well. There's the Aguilar Tone Hammer, Tech 21 Sansamp Bass DI, and others. They all have different flavors.

In a studio setting, you can get by for free. You can mix a clean direct track with a track ran through any free distortion VST/EQs/ect and get great results. I use Guitar Rig on my PC and get a pretty good blended bass distortion tone.

6. Gmork

Gmork SS.org Regular

good to know. i actually had my eye on the sansamp bass driver. i own and like the gt2 for guitar. plus im pretty sure it has a blend. now that i think of it i can really see why the blend would be so important it getting that kind of sound. i want that smooth fat clean bass sound but at the same time want that bit of aggression and mid snarl. the answer......BLEND knob. makes total sense. thanks. think ill pick up the bass driver very soon.

7. stevexc

stevexc SS.org Regular

The SansAmp Bass Drivers all have blend knobs.