Different strings´ brands and their influence on your guitar setup

Discussion in 'Standard Guitars' started by david_pri, Oct 12, 2019 at 6:40 PM.

1. david_pri

david_pri SS.org Regular

I am a Daddario user (EXL´s) basically since I started playing and learning electric guitar. Ive never tried other brands. Daddarios were the only strings at my local shop and then, when online stores appeared, I continued purchasing them for many years.

Two years ago, I bought the guitar of my dreams, a Strandberg with natural finish. The first days with it were fantastic, I was extremely happy with the guitar. However, when I changed strings for the first time, everything changed. The guitar has never been the same: high action, fret buzzing. It was a nightmare because Im so sensitive to setup changes.

I share this experience because, last week I decided to try Ernie Balls and it turned up to be harder strings and have more tension, and as a result of the extra tension, I was able to straight the neck a bit more and to achieve a lower action without fret buzzing.

To sum up, if you are struggling with a guitar setup, yo may want to try different strings brands.

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

All string brands have variations in materials and wind methods and that turns into different perceived tension, different sound, and different lifespan.

Luckily, strings are some of the cheapest consumables out there, so I always recommend trying tons of stuff out.

Now, when it comes to setup, you should be able to achieve any setup with any set of strings.

Classical guitars use the strings as a tool in setup, especially those without truss rods, but modern(ish) electric guitars have facilities in which to adjust just about anything, taking strings mostly out of the equation.

3. david_pri

david_pri SS.org Regular