crackling sound on regular audio playback

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Santuzzo, Jun 19, 2019.

1. Santuzzo

Santuzzo SS.org Regular

Hi,

I am using a Win7 PC with a Line6 UX2 interface which I use for recording as well as regular audio playback.
    I have been using this setup for 10+ years and never had any issues.
    Just a yesterday out of the blue I noticed crackling when playing back audio, be it playing an mp3 with the WindowsMediaPlayer or playing a clip off of YouTube.
    It's the type of crackling you get when the CPU reaches it's peak for a split second, so I'm assuming this must be some sort of driver related-issue? Or could this be something else?
    I did look if there was a new driver for my UX2 interface, and indeed there was one, but evne after installing it, the crackling was still happening.

And when it happend I'm not running a ton of programs, usually just either Windows Media Player and/or my browser (Firefox) from which I'm plying a clip off YouTube.
    This has just started happening now, so there must have been some change on my system that I was not aware of that must be causing this. Could it be a Windows update causing this maybe? Or a virus/malware?

Any ideas?

Thanks!

2. mpexus

mpexus SS.org Regular

Most certain some windows update of some sort. Do you also have the Onboard Audio card active? If so update its drivers as well, if it doesn't work and try to use another Audio Card to see if the prob goes away, if so... maybe it's the oldy UX2 saying its time for a retirement.

Can also be the CPU telling you its tired... been 10 years of hard work ;)

Santuzzo likes this.
  3. Santuzzo

Santuzzo SS.org Regular

Thank you!
    I will try your suggestions.
    I'm not sure (I will have to check later), but I think I have the onboard audio card disabled, but I might be wrong on this.
    So, are you saying it might be a hardware-related issue with the UX2 maybe? Or the processor of my PC?

4. mpexus