Complicated lyrics

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Ancestor, Oct 16, 2011.

1. Ancestor

Ancestor Contributor

has anyone ever written lyrics that tell a cool story but trying to get them to work as a melodic vocal line is impossible?

i guess that being a writer i'm sort of a frustrated librettist, but it seems like something should work! i was listening to something i recorded awhile back and the music was cool and the lyrics were cool but mixing the two ruined both (at least imo).

you'll notice i don't include death vocals, since you can usually pop those in pretty much anywhere and they'll work, probably due to all the overtones.

i was just wondering what everyone's thoughts were about how to write melodies for lyrics.

or do you never write a lyric before the melody line?

2. JamesM

JamesM The Armada

I just remember when writing lyrics that less is always more.

3. DaveFSJ

DaveFSJ Well-Known Member

My lyrics to my melodies hardly ever make sense when I first write them, I then go back later and change the words. Works 90% of the time for me.

4. KingAenarion

KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

I've always found converting lyrics into melodies to be somewhat simple.

Writing the melodies themselves is something I find easy as someone who is a natural musician and a natural improviser. I just sing lines that sound good in my head.

Generally thematically you can use musical contours to follow the thought patterns in the lyrics. When the words are saying something powerful you use classic tension building, of which there are many possible solutions. Some are just wrong. If you're building to the climax of a song, you tend to go higher rather than lower. You don't move in scale thirds if you want to quickly build tension the kind of things that feel natural to the lyrics.

I always find that I need to hear a whole song at least once before I can write melodies so that I can get a general idea of where things are going.