Companies that make tube preamps and power amps

Codyyy

The Flip-Flopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
340
Location
Massachusetts
I figure if I'm looking for an amp, I may as well look in the category of separate preamps and power amps too. But I don't know of many. As for preamps, I know of:

Mesa Recto recording pre/triaxis
ENGL tube preamps (too expensive though)
?

Power amps:
Carvin TS100
?

I'm just looking for suggestions. What sounds good in your opinion? For a power amp, I'm pretty sure I want a 2ch so I can have one with EL34's and one with 6L6's.


EDIT: Alright, I just found this preamp. And it looks realllly good. Has anyone played it, and how does it sound? Also what is the street price of it?

gp-3-02.gif

VHT Valvulator GP3!
 

Edroz

new album soon!
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,554
Reaction score
492
Location
New Jersey, USA
your search for a tube preamp ends here...

gp-3-02.gif


:lol:

i just sold mine on ebay for $750 + shipping

it sounds amazing, with a nice tube poweramp, it responds just like a great tube head. it is extremely unforgiving though. i like the use the term "lie detector" with it, as it will put out exactly what's put into... basically, it will pick up every flaw in your technique, but will reward you with incredible tone.
 

budda

Do not criticize as this
Contributor
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
29,793
Reaction score
13,045
Location
Earth
dont people say that about a lot of tube amps, Ed? :lol: according to my jsx, i dont suck as much as i thought hehe

the carvin is a solid bet for a power amp. can be had for reasonable prices too.

ENGL pre's, that VHT, you've heard Chris's Digitech Artist clips, Triaxis.. an X3/GT-10..

your options open up a bit more if you're going rack... i plan on sticking with heads for a while personally
 

Edroz

new album soon!
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,554
Reaction score
492
Location
New Jersey, USA
dont people say that about a lot of tube amps, Ed? :lol: according to my jsx, i dont suck as much as i thought hehe

:lol: true, but the GP3 moreso than any other amp/ preamp i've ever used... why do you think i don't have it anymore? j/k.



on a serious note though, Codyyy. the GP3 is pretty exceptional when it comes to all tube preamps. i would recommend it above all others :agreed:. the only reason i sold mine is because i'm just not a rack guy (when it comes to amps that is :cool:), as much as i try and force myself, i always go back to a tube head and a bunch of pedals.
 

Codyyy

The Flip-Flopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
340
Location
Massachusetts
What is the price of a new GP3?

Also, is there anything I should know about "going rack"? If I was to get a VHT 2/90/2 power amp, would it sound EXACTLY like an Ulra Lead (I think that's what they're modeled after) or would there be pieces missing (tonally, or even real pieces)?

See what I'm getting at?
 

Edroz

new album soon!
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,554
Reaction score
492
Location
New Jersey, USA
What is the price of a new GP3?

Also, is there anything I should know about "going rack"? If I was to get a VHT 2/90/2 power amp, would it sound EXACTLY like an Ulra Lead (I think that's what they're modeled after) or would there be pieces missing (tonally, or even real pieces)?

See what I'm getting at?


sounds like you're going for EXACTLY what i was going for when i got the GP3... while i haven't tried the GP3/2902 combo, the general consensus is that it's not 100%, but very close to a Pittbull UL or CLX :agreed:. and the GP3 is midi controllable as well. there are lots of threads (and clips!) on this topic on the VHT forum...
 

Edroz

new album soon!
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,554
Reaction score
492
Location
New Jersey, USA
But you sold it...

there must have been something other than looks...


looks? not following you on that one :scratch:


i originally bought the GP3 becuase i absolutely fell in love with the Pittbull UL, i had to have one! :lol:. the GP3 popped up cheap and i grabbed it with the intention of getting a 2/90/2 or 2150 power amp for it...

not too long after i bought the GP3, a Brunetti Pirata 141 Impact showed up on ebay for a ridiculously low price and i jumped on it. figured i'd give it a shot, if i didn't like it, i knew i could make my money back and the GP3 or Pittbull UL were the amps for me... i liked the Brunetti better than both. amp search over :agreed:.

financial reasons were also a factor with selling the GP3 too :noway:. i'd love to pick another one up someday!

i wouldn't have recommended it to you if there was something i didn't like about. i have nothing to gain by lying to you :nuts:
 

Jeff

Banned from Reality
Joined
Jul 22, 2004
Messages
5,100
Reaction score
1,138
it sounds amazing, with a nice tube poweramp, it responds just like a great tube head. it is extremely unforgiving though. i like the use the term "lie detector" with it, as it will put out exactly what's put into... basically, it will pick up every flaw in your technique, but will reward you with incredible tone.

Wow, I better not buy one then, ever! :rofl:
 

Codyyy

The Flip-Flopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
340
Location
Massachusetts
I'm relatively sure that if I go rack, that's the preamp for me.

So does it come with a footswitch, or do you have to buy a midi foot controller?

Also, what would be a good power amp (for this preamp)? I know some will say the 2/90/2, but that's another $1200 I'm not quite willing to spend. I've heard good and bad things about KT88's. What about the Carvin TS100?
 

Edroz

new album soon!
Joined
Sep 18, 2006
Messages
3,554
Reaction score
492
Location
New Jersey, USA
I'm relatively sure that if I go rack, that's the preamp for me.

So does it come with a footswitch, or do you have to buy a midi foot controller?

Also, what would be a good power amp (for this preamp)? I know some will say the 2/90/2, but that's another $1200 I'm not quite willing to spend. I've heard good and bad things about KT88's. What about the Carvin TS100?


alot of people seem to like the TS100... i can't speak too highly of it personally as it blew up on me about 3 months after i got it :noway:. it basically cut out on me and i saw some black smoke come out of it :noplease:, can't say i've ever had that happen with any other amp i've owned :lol:. technical problem aside, i just think it's an ok poweramp, very transparent sounding and really not loud enough at all.

i used a Marshall EL34 100/100 power amp with the GP3 for a little while and it sounded pretty good, but the GP3s voicing just begs for KT88s or 6L6s IMO.

a VHT power amp would be your best bet with it. maybe a 6L6 powered Mesa would be a good match too.
 

Codyyy

The Flip-Flopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
340
Location
Massachusetts
Just when I thought I would have some money for a bit, eh.

How much do Mesa power amps usually go for?
 

7 Strings of Hate

Mid-Level Asshole
Contributor
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
8,629
Reaction score
1,397
Location
St.Louis USA
I had a mesa 2:100, it was a fucking MONSTER. I bought it for 850 and sold it to a board member for 800(autofate). It was a awesome power amp, i had a mackie that i ran a xtlive through, it sounded pretty good, but when i slapped that mesa in the mix, it was pure sex.
If line 6 didnt butt fuck me, i would probably still have that rig:noplease:
You can get a 2:90 for a little less, and a 50/50 for about 4 or 500ish
 

Codyyy

The Flip-Flopper
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
2,012
Reaction score
340
Location
Massachusetts
I had a mesa 2:100, it was a fucking MONSTER. I bought it for 850 and sold it to a board member for 800(autofate). It was a awesome power amp, i had a mackie that i ran a xtlive through, it sounded pretty good, but when i slapped that mesa in the mix, it was pure sex.
If line 6 didnt butt fuck me, i would probably still have that rig:noplease:
You can get a 2:90 for a little less, and a 50/50 for about 4 or 500ish

I take it you mean used. Nice!

The 2:50 looks very intriguing (I assume that's not the same as the 50/50 - discontinued?). Except the site isn't clear, can the channels be bridged? It says something about offering a full 100 watts, but there's no switch or anything as far as I can see.
 

7 Strings of Hate

Mid-Level Asshole
Contributor
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
8,629
Reaction score
1,397
Location
St.Louis USA
not sure, it might be mesa has the 2:50 and peavey has the 50/50, i dont think you can bridge them, its basically 2 separate 50 watt channels, if you wanted to bridge them you could just do what i did, i bought a Y cable and Y'ed my single input into both channels, it worked fine

Edit: yea, i ment used, if you buy anything mesa new, your gonna be taking a big hit compared to the used market
 

zimbloth

Nick // Axe Palace
Vendor
Forum MVP
Joined
Aug 3, 2005
Messages
17,873
Reaction score
4,988
Location
Boston
Obviously the VHT GP3 is awesome and I'd recommend that. I also like the Mesa Triaxis/2:90 combination but I prefer VHT.
 


Latest posts

Top