CNC Fingerboard Radius

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by VikingAxe, Dec 28, 2014.

  1. VikingAxe

    VikingAxe Active Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Any CNC guys in here? I just got a few unradiused boards, and im going to just do it with the machine. Has anyone here programmed a compound radius before? We never programmed one before, we want to make sure they come out properly.
     
  2. Gango79

    Gango79 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Parma, italy
    What do you want to know specifically? What program you use?
     
  3. ulijdavid

    ulijdavid SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Malabar, FL
    There are a number of issues to deal with.
    1. Do you have modeling software capable of creating the compound radius?
    2. Do you have a post processor to translate you surfacing/solid model?
    3. If the fretboard is already attached to the neck, it will be easier to hold. If not you need to source some really good double sided sticky tape to hold the board. I have some really good tape that "top notch" machinists use to hold parts down (they actually touch the gearheads of the mill to "feel" when the cutter touches the part.
    4. No matter your machine and step over sizes (0.005, .0.03,.050, etc.) you will still have to do final sanding. At some point , people have to realize CNCs do 90% of the work, but hand sanding is where the "toughdown" is scored.

    Definitely have sanding blocks at the radii you plan on doing. The only real way to get the compound radius perfect is to use a sanding jig over a belt sander (ala Grizzly). Contact me if you have questions. I don't know how the real world does it, but I have my methods.
     
  4. VikingAxe

    VikingAxe Active Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY
    The program is proprietary to the machine, and we can import other files. Does anyone have a file for a compound radius they are willing to share?
    Im sure im going to have to fix up everything by hand.
    @ulijdavid I will find out 1. and 2...
     
  5. ulijdavid

    ulijdavid SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Malabar, FL
    Vikingaxe,
    I can send you a file (iges, stl, stp, etc.) let me know what you can read and also the compound radius, scale length, and number of frets.
     
  6. VikingAxe

    VikingAxe Active Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    New York, NY
    @uli
    Much appreciated
    Im going to find out what we can read by tomorrow
    Its a 12" through 16" radius. 25.5" scale, with 24 frets.
    Thanks
     
  7. Eliguy666

    Eliguy666 Holy shit I've been inactive for awhile

    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Location:
    Richardson, Texas
    Yeah, compound radii work fine on CNC machines, given proper modelling/surfacing. You'd want to use a smaller bit, and probably a round-nosed bit for the finishing passes, but everything's totally doable.
     

Share This Page