Choosing a DAW for Guitars and Midi

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by 777, Jul 20, 2020.

1. 777

777 SS.Org's Irish Guy

I want to start recording and composing a bit. So Im looking for a DAW.

I have ZERO knowledge of what each DAW brings but what I do know is what I want to record/compose.

My Needs:
    - Great Midi Editor
    - Virtual Instruments included in software
    - Guitar recording and editing options

2. DudeManBrother

DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

Logic for Mac, Cubase for PC

drgamble likes this.
  3. Señor Voorhees

Señor Voorhees SS.org Regular

Reaper is cheap and can do both but excels at audio recording. (guitar.) FL studio is the DAW I use and is great at midi, but less intuitive for guitar recording. (it can still easily do it, it's just a vastly different process.) Considering 90% of my workflow (that is drums/keys/strings/anything other than guitar/bass) is midi, I adore FL studio.

I'd still recommend Reaper over that though, as it's more in line with other daw's and can be played with fully featured for free. (you're SUPPOSED to buy after like 60 days, but they don't force it. Not morally nice to keep using it after those 60 days, but nothing is stopping you other than a nag screen.)

I've not found a nicer DAW for programming midi than FL studio, however. I wouldn't discredit it. I even personally prefer it's audio recording to other DAW's. It's very different, but much easier, imo, to route and keep de-cluttered.

Merrekof and feilong29 like this.
  4. PatientMental76

PatientMental76 SS.org Regular

They are all pretty much the same, whatever works for you i guess

RobertVII likes this.
  5. mongey

mongey SS.org Regular

If you got a mac garage band is a no brainier

While its far from my fav to use , its a good entry level package with everything built in

Flappydoodle and budda like this.
  6. trem licking

trem licking SS.org Regular