Cheap, small MIDI-Foot-Controller for Axe-FX

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by joe-tofu, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. joe-tofu

    joe-tofu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm in desperate need of a relatively small MIDI-Foot-Controller (Axe-FX-compatible) that doesn't cost a fortune.

    At the moment I have a Behringer FCB that is just too big and overbloated for my liking. A maybe 5/6-button-switch to change presets would be awesome, but I don't want to shell out over 200€ for something "that simple" (see Prostage X07 for example) :D

    Oh yeah, it has to be compatible to an Axe-Fx Standard.
     
  2. nangillala

    nangillala SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    I use a Boss FC-50 for exactly this. Got it for 50 or 60€ and it's very cool. Works with battery so you don't need another power supply at the front of the stage and you can simply add another pedal for tap tempo or stuff like that.
     
  3. joe-tofu

    joe-tofu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    And it's compatible with the Axe-FX "out of the box"?
     
  4. 1NJ3CT10N

    1NJ3CT10N Active Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria B.C.
    Any 3rd party midi foot controller is going to need a little programming to work correctly with an Axefx. Expecting a controller to work right "out of the box" as in "plug in and go" is unlikely. Are you just wanting to change patches with this or do you want to turn on/off effects within a patch? Or both?
     
  5. Rook

    Rook Electrifying

    Messages:
    9,062
    Likes Received:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    London
    G sharp?

    Roland/boss also make several ranging from one or two button up to about 6.
     
  6. SpaceDock

    SpaceDock Shred till your dead

    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Location:
    Windsor, CO
    Liquid foot jr? Small but not cheap
     
  7. Gilbertsgotbrootz

    Gilbertsgotbrootz SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    277
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Location:
    Knoxville , Tennessee
    A behringer fcb 1010 is like 150 brand new it can be used with a axe out of the box and it works great .
     
  8. 1NJ3CT10N

    1NJ3CT10N Active Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria B.C.
    Um..... Did you read the OP?
     
  9. nangillala

    nangillala SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes it is.
    It will switch the first 127 presets. (you can configure an offset in your axe, though).

    The only thing I had to change was what the external (/extra) pedal does. I think it was linked to the tuner and I changed it to tap tempo.

    Cheers
     
  10. 4Eyes

    4Eyes SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Slovakia
  11. mike0

    mike0 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland, US
    what about this?
    Tech 21 MIDI Mouse | Sweetwater.com

    Edit: i know it's not 5/6 buttons, but it makes up for it with its extremely small size and is relatively easy to scroll through presets
     
  12. Shask

    Shask SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    1,574
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Tech 21 Midi Moose, Rocktron Midi Mate, etc....

    And I agree, any pedal is going to require some programming. The only "plug-n-play" controller will be a Fractal MFC-101.
     
  13. danielsand

    danielsand Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    If that sounds like a lot of work, you can just cut away the expression pedals on the FCB1010. I did that, and it was quite fun, and only took a few hours.

    [​IMG]
    Remove the expression pedals. They have connectors which you can unplug. Also you'll loose the transformer and the on-off switch.

    [​IMG]
    Some tape to prevent metal shavings from touching the electronics.

    [​IMG]
    Add the bottom lid again and just saw through the body.

    [​IMG]
    Done. The yellow wires are for power. It runs on 9VDC or 9VAC. Just add a small dc-connector and run it on an external power supply. Or add midi phantom power like I did. (Plenty of good writeups for doing that available.)

    [​IMG]
    Project complete. The plastic sides help hiding my uneven sawing.
     
  14. Shannon

    Shannon Lord Super Awesome Contributor

    Messages:
    10,077
    Likes Received:
    1,731
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What were the before and after measurements?
    Did you add jacks to add external expression pedals?
    Nice mod.
     
  15. MikeSap

    MikeSap formerly mikeyENGL

    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    404
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Northern New Jersey
    That fcb mod is awesome! I run one and never use the expression pedals! Deff going to have to try this out!
     
  16. 1NJ3CT10N

    1NJ3CT10N Active Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    Victoria B.C.
    Pfft, a hacksaw! Would have been way more epic with an angle grinder and a rooster tail of sparks, LOL! Nice Mod.
     
  17. danielsand

    danielsand Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    It went from being around 690 mm (27") to around 500 mm (20").
    I did not add expression jacks. Although I tried soldering a potentiometer directly to the wires just to test it. If i remember correctly I had to add a resistor somewhere to get the full range. It uses an optical sensor with the built in expression pedals:
    [​IMG]
    Thanks, although I'm just doing what others have done before. See for example:
    https://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=149208
     
  18. danielsand

    danielsand Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
  19. joe-tofu

    joe-tofu SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    Totally thinking about that. An FCB without the Expression Pedals and phantom power sounds like the perfekt Foot-Controller. Unfortunately I have only basic knowledge about electronics ... we'll see if I understand those guides.
     
  20. Seanthesheep

    Seanthesheep SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Location:
    OntariO
    dat FCB mod.

    Im actually REALLY interested in doing this to mine.

    just need to figure out how to deal with the expression pedals as I know nothing about electronics :lol:
     

Share This Page