Cheap, small MIDI-Foot-Controller for Axe-FX

joe-tofu

SS.org Regular
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
151
Reaction score
58
Location
Germany
I'm in desperate need of a relatively small MIDI-Foot-Controller (Axe-FX-compatible) that doesn't cost a fortune.

At the moment I have a Behringer FCB that is just too big and overbloated for my liking. A maybe 5/6-button-switch to change presets would be awesome, but I don't want to shell out over 200€ for something "that simple" (see Prostage X07 for example) :D

Oh yeah, it has to be compatible to an Axe-Fx Standard.
 

nangillala

SS.org Regular
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
157
Reaction score
20
Location
Germany
I use a Boss FC-50 for exactly this. Got it for 50 or 60€ and it's very cool. Works with battery so you don't need another power supply at the front of the stage and you can simply add another pedal for tap tempo or stuff like that.
 

1NJ3CT10N

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Location
Victoria B.C.
And it's compatible with the Axe-FX "out of the box"?

Any 3rd party midi foot controller is going to need a little programming to work correctly with an Axefx. Expecting a controller to work right "out of the box" as in "plug in and go" is unlikely. Are you just wanting to change patches with this or do you want to turn on/off effects within a patch? Or both?
 

Rook

Electrifying
Joined
Aug 23, 2010
Messages
9,055
Reaction score
1,456
Location
London
G sharp?

Roland/boss also make several ranging from one or two button up to about 6.
 

nangillala

SS.org Regular
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
157
Reaction score
20
Location
Germany
And it's compatible with the Axe-FX "out of the box"?

Yes it is.
It will switch the first 127 presets. (you can configure an offset in your axe, though).

The only thing I had to change was what the external (/extra) pedal does. I think it was linked to the tuner and I changed it to tap tempo.

Cheers
 

Shask

SS.org Regular
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
5,729
Reaction score
2,447
Location
Indianapolis
Tech 21 Midi Moose, Rocktron Midi Mate, etc....

And I agree, any pedal is going to require some programming. The only "plug-n-play" controller will be a Fractal MFC-101.
 

danielsand

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Gothenburg, Sweden
if you want to have some fun, you can try this - FCB1010 Re-house project

If that sounds like a lot of work, you can just cut away the expression pedals on the FCB1010. I did that, and it was quite fun, and only took a few hours.

front.jpg

Remove the expression pedals. They have connectors which you can unplug. Also you'll loose the transformer and the on-off switch.

tejp.jpg

Some tape to prevent metal shavings from touching the electronics.

saga.jpg

Add the bottom lid again and just saw through the body.

sagatinsidan.jpg

Done. The yellow wires are for power. It runs on 9VDC or 9VAC. Just add a small dc-connector and run it on an external power supply. Or add midi phantom power like I did. (Plenty of good writeups for doing that available.)

klart.jpg

Project complete. The plastic sides help hiding my uneven sawing.
 

Shannon

Lord Super Awesome
Contributor
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
10,077
Reaction score
1,734
Location
Seattle, WA
What were the before and after measurements?
Did you add jacks to add external expression pedals?
Nice mod.
 

MikeSap

formerly mikeyENGL
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
991
Reaction score
414
Location
Northern New Jersey
That fcb mod is awesome! I run one and never use the expression pedals! Deff going to have to try this out!
 

1NJ3CT10N

Active Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Location
Victoria B.C.
Pfft, a hacksaw! Would have been way more epic with an angle grinder and a rooster tail of sparks, LOL! Nice Mod.
 

danielsand

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Gothenburg, Sweden
What were the before and after measurements?
It went from being around 690 mm (27") to around 500 mm (20").
Did you add jacks to add external expression pedals?
I did not add expression jacks. Although I tried soldering a potentiometer directly to the wires just to test it. If i remember correctly I had to add a resistor somewhere to get the full range. It uses an optical sensor with the built in expression pedals:
3.JPG

Nice mod.
Thanks, although I'm just doing what others have done before. See for example:
https://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=149208
 

danielsand

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Gothenburg, Sweden

joe-tofu

SS.org Regular
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
151
Reaction score
58
Location
Germany
Thanks!

These are all pictures I have of my mod:
http://parkmetall.se/daniel/fcb1010/

I also recommend adding phantom power. This is a good guide:
http://www.voes.be/fcb1010/pdf/fcb1010%20phantom%20power%20adaptor.pdf

I didn't bother with the rectifiers though. Just soldered the two power wires to the midi port.

Totally thinking about that. An FCB without the Expression Pedals and phantom power sounds like the perfekt Foot-Controller. Unfortunately I have only basic knowledge about electronics ... we'll see if I understand those guides.
 

Seanthesheep

SS.org Regular
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
1,342
Reaction score
28
Location
OntariO
dat FCB mod.

Im actually REALLY interested in doing this to mine.

just need to figure out how to deal with the expression pedals as I know nothing about electronics :lol:
 


Top