Ceramic Blackhawk 7 (Mix test kinda)

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by MaxBenches, Feb 22, 2014.

1. MaxBenches

MaxBenches SS.org Regular

Hey everybody!
    I have spent a bit of my evening tinkering with the DI files and audio stems which Nolly put out from his Blackhawk test. I reamped the DI files, added a bit of EQ and compression and brought the volume up a bit in Studio One. I'm new to mixing, but I think it sounds alright. Any constructive criticizm would be greatly appreciated!
    Cheers!
    https://soundcloud.com/max-bartholin-larsen-bech/blackhawk-7-ceramic-testing

2. MaxBenches

Posted the exact same thing over on Metalguitarist.org. I basically got all kinds shit for practicing mixing on someone else's DIs, drums and bass, and for putting "Mix test" in the title. Apparently, you can't put "Mix test" or "BKP" in the title, without having a ....ton of posts and having been a member for millennia, without your thread getting closed. I only got one barely useful comment, which didn't actually help me. So just to clarify, I'm not trying to sound like Nolly or anyone else. I'm just practicing getting my guitartones to sit in the mix, and basically learn how to mix. If anyone has any kind and constructive criticism to a newcomer to mixing, it would be really be appreciated.

3. JPMDan

JPMDan IT'S OVER 9000!!!! Contributor

The reason why they close those kinds of threads is because they get those kinds of threads very often where people post one, read the comments and never come back (not saying you were doing the same thing by any means). It gets irritating after a while. MG.org want people who are going to be a part of the community and not just dump a mix test here and there. You shouldn't just bag on them because they have certain rules either.

For this clip are you practicing mixing? I think it sounds great to me, I dig that Raw, thick tone especially with the Purring.

4. MaxBenches