Cave Sermon - for fans of Convulsing, Ulcerate, Conjurer

CharliePark

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Hey all,

I made an album recently that took waaaaaaaay more time than it should've but I'm pretty happy with it all. If you're into bands like Convulsing, Ulcerate and Conjurer, you might enjoy.

https://cavesermon.bandcamp.com/album/fabricate

If anyone has any feedback on the production I would be super grateful.

Thanks,

Charlie

Akkush

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Veeery good, congrats! I love Convulsing, maybe better then Ulcerate.
I think it sounds perfect, you nailed the atmosphere. It sounds cleaner then Convulsing, which is a plus, I don't like lofi sounding albums. Maaaybe the drums could get a bit more reverb, but I'm a noob....

Oh, and it's a big plus for me that it's instrumental. I'm bored with medicore vocals and bullshit lyrics, let's just listen to the music! :)

Do you used some kind of Rat pedal for your distortion?
Is it a direct recording or you miced a cab?
Could you send me your signal chain? I'm planing to record in the far future, could be helpfull...

Hope you advertise this well!

Keep up the good work!
(Bought the album)

Last edited:

CharliePark

SS.org Regular
Reaction score
Thanks for the kind words and buying the album! Very nice of you.

You have good ears - there was a Rat involved. Signal chain was as follows:

Guitar with Bare Knuckle Impulse bridge pickup
Proco Rat with distortion at 9 o'clock, filter and volume at 3 o'clock
Maxon OD9 with standard TS settings, level 10, gain 0, tone 12 o'clock
Elextronic Audio Experiments Model Fet pedal with a little bit of distortion
GGD Zilla cab sim - can't remember which cabs/speakers

There was also some fairly drastic EQ involved to tame the mids of the pedal chain.

MoJoToJo

SS.org Regular
Reaction score