Can you use vocal compressor for guitar?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Max Griffiths, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. Max Griffiths

    Max Griffiths Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Location:
    Joplin, MO USA
    I am buying a behringer composer locally and I was just wondering if I could use it for guitar because it is a gate/compressor/limiter. It has 1/4" jacks so I would think so, but would rather see what you guys think.
     
  2. Dabo Fett

    Dabo Fett SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    109
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Horsham, PA but straight from Long Island
    If you can adjust the parameters of the compressor I.e. Attack, release, ratio, etc you could use it for anything. I use a rack mount tube compressor all the time on bass after my sansamp
     
  3. morethan6

    morethan6 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Location:
    London
    Hold on, depends what you mean - in a mix situation yes, you could insert it on a channel or track a miked-up guitar amp with it.

    You cannot, however, just run the guitar through it before an amp like a stompbox - it operates at line level and your guitar is at a tiny Hi-Z voltage.

    What goes in would be way too low for the comp, and what comes out would be way too hot for an instrument input on an amp or interface.

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  4. Max Griffiths

    Max Griffiths Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Location:
    Joplin, MO USA
    Sorry but I didn't understand that all too much (I've never used compressors before:/). Would I be able to use it if I went through my FX loop on my amp?
     
  5. b7string

    b7string SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    86
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Yes if you were running it through your fx loop, seeing as that should be a line level signal (or if it has a switch, make sure its set to line level) then it should work. May not have the desired intent depending on what type of sound you were trying to achieve though, some people like to run a compressor before the amp, because it changes the dynamics with which your guitar interacts with the preamp.
     
  6. Max Griffiths

    Max Griffiths Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Location:
    Joplin, MO USA
    I plugged it in and messed with it for a while, and found out that the noise gate works pretty well. I still have to explore the compressor but so far it seems pretty cool. I traded old gear I didn't use for it so I'm ok with it.
     

Share This Page