Blackouts - Routing/Install Thread

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by djpharoah, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. Flaggschiff

    Flaggschiff Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    Only in depth or also in width? Did you take any pics during installation?
     
  2. trashed

    trashed SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hungary
    anyone could tell me what needs to be done with the 5way switch when installing two blackouts in an RG7321? do I need to order a 3way switch, and if so, how could it fit into the 5way slot? or is it possible to wire it that position 1,2 activates neck, 3 - middle - 4,5 brigde ? also im not planning to use the tone pot, so it doesnt matter if there's no connection to it.

    thanks.
     
  3. BabUShka

    BabUShka SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    You can buy a 3-way switch in Ibanez-style.. Looks the same as the 5 way, but its only got 3 ways.
     
  4. trashed

    trashed SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    Hungary
  5. Flaggschiff

    Flaggschiff Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    Jap, works! Bought the same.
     
  6. brutalslam

    brutalslam SLAMZ

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone installed the phase 1's in an Agile 727, yet? My Agile has the cepheus passives.

    I seen one guy in here that installed them in his Agile Hornet 7, but I'm not sure if that's the same.

    Also with the Agile, would I need a new jack?
     
  7. 7StringedBeast

    7StringedBeast Random Fingers

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Anyone ever tried the 18v mod with the Blackouts?
     
  8. legacy5k

    legacy5k SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    ^^^ This really needs to be changed, it is false information. (and screwed me over)

    These do not fit into the DC727 at all. The width is too narrow by a very slight amount. It is actually true that the lower ear needs additional routing too. As far as the depth goes, I'm not yet sure if the route is deep enough as I haven't completed the install yet... I am bringing my guitar to a guy next week to get the job done.
     
  9. zap514

    zap514 Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Falun
    Hi!

    I'm planing on getting these pickups for my Ibanez Apex 2, does anybody here have experience with installing blackouts in that guitar? Should i get the Phase 1 or 2? I don't really understand what the difference is. the phase 2 looks wider and I would prefer that one if it fits.
     
  10. 22km Tombstone

    22km Tombstone Pro Apologizer

    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Your guitar is routed for normal DiMarzio pups, so you should go with the Phase 1 housings or you'll have to route the larger mounting holes.
     
  11. geohuete

    geohuete Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Acton, MA
    i just got the phase 1 blackouts for my 7321. the dimension for the pups are fine but the jack is way too big how should i widen it on the guitar?
    also the image seymour duncan has for the fender 3 blade switch is different from the one i ordered, its based off a tele so im confused as to where i would connect anything. lastly, what do the pickups sit on? the wires? cuz it didnt come with any springs or anything. sorry again, ive never used active pups in my life lol
     
  12. Stoker

    Stoker Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Location:
    Marburg/GER
    Hey guys!

    Is it possible to install passive PUs in a RG1527 that has been routed for Blackouts?
    I'm thinking of buying one and want to have the option in case I don't like the actives...

    Thanks in advance!
     
  13. acexxxoasis

    acexxxoasis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Location:
    milwaukee wi
    no problems at all with my douglas hadron 727. phase 1,
     
  14. Joe Harvatt

    Joe Harvatt SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    94
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    So how did so many of you learn how to route? I think I'm going to take the easier option and get another passive pickup instead of routing my guitar.
     
  15. acexxxoasis

    acexxxoasis SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Location:
    milwaukee wi
    Joe you should be fine with the phase 1s if its too tight you just touch up the inside of the pickup cavity, I would start with a dremel before going to a router for phase 1s.
     
  16. Sarutobi_Armstrong

    Sarutobi_Armstrong New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester
    Right , I'm really new to this forum but so bare with me, Ive settled on the idea of purchasing a new Ibanez RGA7 and not only will it be my first 7 string guitar it will also be the first guitar I've ever had that houses an active pickup set up. I did originally want something more custom looking/ customized but to fill that void i want to swap out the stock actives with a set of Seymour Duncan Phase Two Blackouts. I've never owned a set but I've heard them in many music shops and I like the output and tone they give. My worry is having to re-wire my guitar because I have never been through this process before, and quite frankly its a bit scary especially because the guitar will be brand new. Ive seen many different diagrams on the internet but i just want to know how hard this process is and what sort of issues people on here have encountered when doing a similar process


    Any hints/ tips would be much appreciated
     
  17. geoffshreds

    geoffshreds SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    Houston TX
    hey guys. i just got done wiring phase I blackouts to my rg7321. they fit in fine with no wood work, i just had to cut the rubber "stoppers" "supports", whatever you want to call them, in half for the pickups to rest low enough in the pickup cavities. however, i did have to enlarge the holes for the volume/tone pots to fit. i drilled them with a 3/8 drill bit..just slightly larger than the stock holes. it worked out fine drilling the holes starting from finish side into the cavity, with minimal chipping to the finish. the washers were enough to cover the chipping. (not even noticeable with the knobs on) i swapped out a fender style 3 way blade switch for the stock 5 way. my only question regards inconsistencies with seymour duncan's wiring diagrams... if you notice on the given Blackouts diagram here http://www.seymourduncan.com/images/products/electric/humbuckers/501020-110_rv1.pdf
    it says to connect the neck to the 2nd tab of the switch, and the bridge to the 7th tab of the switch...but when looking at their 3 way switch translation diagram here
    Wiring Diagram
    it says to connect the BRIDGE to the 2nd tab, and NECK to the 7th tab.
    so can anyone tell me which is actually correct? i wired mine according to the 2nd diagram with the bridge at 2, and the neck at 7, as that seemed to make more sense. everything sounds fine to me. my only problem is that i get no sound out the middle position. but switching from bridge to neck works just fine. i just don't see how they could have these kind of inconsistencies without more people noticing.
     
  18. will_shred

    will_shred Wannabe audio engineer

    Messages:
    3,077
    Likes Received:
    657
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    so sorry if this has been answered but there's no routing required for EMG-->blackout swap? I would rather put in Passives but from what I understand an active to passive transition is a pain.
     
  19. MistaSnowman

    MistaSnowman Play It LOUD!!!

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    In about 99% of these type of swaps, no further routing is required.
     
  20. PagingDrBreakdown

    PagingDrBreakdown Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Has anyone ever swapped the stock EMG pickups in a Schecter Damien Platinum 7 for Phase II Blackouts? Just wondering if any extra work was needed. I could be getting bad info here, but one of my local guitar techs mentioned needing to route an extra 1/4" or so deeper on this guitar for the pickups to not be so close to the strings.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.