Blackouts - Routing/Install Thread

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by djpharoah, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. drmosh

    drmosh Sir Paul of the Mosh Contributor

    Messages:
    4,726
    Likes Received:
    563
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I put a blackout in my LTD SC-607B, easy install replacing the awful 81-7s, huge improvement. djenty as hell.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. anibal

    anibal Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi there,

    Ive searching a lot on this forum but i still dont have the answer to my question. I got for a year a Schecter Hellraiser c-7 & i just received my new Blackout humbucker. I did the easy quick installation using the plug & play option, not wiring the cable & not changing pots or solding anything. My big surprise, my guitar sound is still poor as it was with the EMG 707. When my other guitar that also have a blackout ( a 6 string one) sound very good !

    Do i really need to change the pots for the blackout on my schecter ? is this going to improve the sound ?

    The guitar sound like there is a lack of gain/distortion on it.

    Changing only one pot would help ?

    Help !

    cheers
    Anibal
     
  3. st2012

    st2012 Texas CEO / RHLC

    Messages:
    2,143
    Likes Received:
    214
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    You shouldnt have to change the pots but if it sounded like it was wired poorly before then it will still sound that way. Any loose connections in the soldering job?
     
  4. B Lopez

    B Lopez Vescere bracis meis.

    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    475
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Killafornia
    Try changing your battery, especially since you've been using it for a year.
     
  5. CrushingAnvil

    CrushingAnvil \m not jesus land m/

    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    cool thread bro, I wish I knew If Blackouts fit in my M307 :(
     
  6. Genocyber

    Genocyber SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    just installed a set of blackouts into my RG1527... they need 4-5mm routed out but after that, they fit nicely... even used the existing socket... battery and wiring all fit nicely too...
     
  7. Filip S

    Filip S D Phrygian #3

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow
    "Ibanez S7 - Route out pup route at least another 3 or 4 mm out the bottom, possibly more. OR you could shim the neck and raise the bridge"

    i don't want to do either :(
    i'm sure i saw a thread where someone said they fit in without any work done. i just cant find it. just if you're wandering im talking about my s7320. is there any difference between that and your s7?


    i found it. it was on a thread i was posting on all the time:

    i'm really confused about this now :(
     
  8. SGB

    SGB Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Madison Heights, MI
    I'm interested in getting a set put in my Ibanez RG520qs anybody have any experience with this guitar or similar with BO's?
     
  9. darbdavys

    darbdavys SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    66
    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    How about fitting into a K7?
     
  10. Filip S

    Filip S D Phrygian #3

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow
    ibanez s7320 requires no additional work, just the electronics. the pots that came with the pups were too wide so i used different ones. the jack that came with them was too short but the old one is stereo so i used that. i also reused the old screws
     
  11. RenegadeDave

    RenegadeDave Huge nerd

    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    381
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    I swapped to Blackouts on my Hornet 7, had to sand the routes for the PUs to go in, once that was done, I used the quick connects and it worked fine.
     
  12. 7deadlysins666

    7deadlysins666 kvlt

    Messages:
    2,453
    Likes Received:
    460
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    They were installed in my Ibanez APEX2 before I got it, but it looks like whoever did it had to clip the sides of the baseplates because the Apex's tabs are triangular.
     
  13. Baum

    Baum ss.org Regulol

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Location:
    Germany
    I put a set of Phase 2 Blackouts to replace the 707s in my C7 Hellraiser. Tight fit, no extra work necessary.
     
  14. jon66

    jon66 Contributor

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I installed a set of Phase-1's in my rg7321. I bought a set off a store on evil-bay (can't remember which store atm). The set came with everything you'd need, along with a few extra washers. I thought it a nice touch that they ship with 4 pots. Makes retrofitting the pups into pretty much any guitar possible, unless you have more than 4 pots...which I've never seen.

    Although I've read that its possible to use a 5-way switch and wire positions 1/2 and 4/5 together, I ordered a separate 3-way switch for ease of soldering/troubleshooting.

    The only modification to the guitar body itself was drilling the pot holes slightly larger to accommodate the supplied 25k pots. I might have been able to file the holes a bit to get them to fit, but the drill was charged and nearby so I figured why-not.

    Also, I didn't have to depth route at all in the pickup cavities. I kept stopping and measuring like a million times, cuz I was always paranoid that I was gonna pop thru the back of the guitar when screwing the pups in direct mount, but there was enough clearance. I still wonder how that'd work on guitars with a tremolo-route in the back.

    I used the supplied little rubber what looks like surgical tubing threading onto the screws between the pickup tab and the body of the guitar in lieu of springs. I probably SHOULD have routed down a little bit, as I could probably drop the neck pickup a tiny bit lower, but its working fine and sounds decent where it is so I'm not unstringing it, taking the pickups out, etc.

    The biggest problem I encountered (and I couldn't figure it out for a couple hours of tinkering) was that the screws that held on my jackplate were poorly "aimed" when drilling into the body. Wiring the actual output jack was easy enough, and it fit on the oval jackplate no problem. Problem was, when installed back INTO the guitar, the tip on one of the screws holding the plate on was shorting connections on the end of the jackpin.

    Once I finally realized this the situation was easily remedied by a trip to the local hardware store and buying a couple shorter length screws. That way I could still keep the jackplate fixed tightly to the body of the guitar, without the screws hitting the jack lugs inside.

    Hopefully this adds so helpful information to anybody thinking about doing it to their rg7321. :metal:
     
  15. ORIENTMETAL

    ORIENTMETAL Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Hey dude, would you have any pictures of your RG7321 you can post?
    I would be very interested to see how it looks like with the 4 pots and the way you connected the electronics...
    I am in the same situation... I just got my Blackouts that i want to install on my RG7321 and i am looking for ways, ideas and info...

    Thanks :hbang:
     
  16. hubbell1202

    hubbell1202 Rufus Alexander

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    I recently ordered blackout 8s, for my HR C-8 replacing the 808s... anyone have trouble?
     
  17. Lethe

    Lethe SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    Munich
    I can add two guitars to the list:

    Schecter 007 Blackjack: Replaced passive Duncans with a Phase 1 set. Needed to file the route quite a bit, But the whole installation including soldering took less than two hours (I'm a slow worker, especially when it comes to guessing how the switch's pins and the diagram correlate. Made an educated guess, got lucky. Never looked back.

    Ibanez RG7EXFX2: Replaced active EMG 707s with a Phase II set. No-brainer, took less than 5 minutes. Differences are not too remarkable using a POD, people using "actual amps" have claimed more dramatic improvements. Too lazy to swap back, I guess they would both work great for me.

    Despite the half inch difference in scale, the set neck vs. bolt-on and mahogany vs. basswood I can't tell the difference in sound between both guitars, which is what I was going for. It's more the look and feel where I want versatility, the sound should be basically the same so I can swap whenever I feel like it. I like the Ibanez better for riffing, because it feels tighter, and the Schecter feels good for melodic stuff with wider range of dynamics.

    I doubt that I will ever go back to passives, at least for the kind of music I play.
     
  18. TJey

    TJey SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Location:
    Kadaƈ, Czech Republic
    How close to strings do I have to put Blackouts.
    Closer = Better?
     
  19. Decipher

    Decipher Ibanez Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, Hellberta, Canada
    No problem. I dropped Blackout 8's into my Ibanez RG2228 and it's an exact fit......... Plus they sound fucking amazing!
     
  20. Hollowway

    Hollowway Extended Ranger

    Messages:
    13,815
    Likes Received:
    6,259
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Location:
    California
    So no routing/pickup ring needed? And how do they sound compared to the EMG's (9V or 18V)? I'm super close to buying another 8, and I need to decide if I want the EMGs (which I'd do at 18V) or the Blackouts. It's already routed for the EMG size, btw.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.