Basic Rhythmic Concepts: Book, Video, Lesson Suggestion

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by HungryGuitarStudent, Aug 18, 2019.

1. HungryGuitarStudent

HungryGuitarStudent SS.org Regular

Bring self taught, I have gaps in my musical theory knowledge. I’m looking for a systematic exposition of basic rhythmic concepts (time signatures, how to read rhythm, etc.) to make sure I missed nothing, to count music more efficiently and to broaden my horizons. It can be a video, a book or a course, as long as it is efficient in its exposition (i.e. not a 800 page book).

Any suggestions would be super appreciated. Thanks !

Attached Files:

2. Solodini

Solodini MORE RESTS!

HungryGuitarStudent likes this.
  3. HungryGuitarStudent

It looks super interesting, but I’m looking for a quicker route :)

I’m considering taking lessons with Jon Bjork on the topic. He uses Konnakol, which I know little about. What are the pros and cons of counting rhythm this way ?

Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
    Given To Fly likes this.
  4. Solodini

Solodini MORE RESTS!

It's a great way of thinking of rhythm and working with it but it won't tell you anything about western notions of rhythm. Konnakol is useful for understanding rhythm at a micro level, but western approaches are more macro, to some extent.

At the most fundamental level, groups of 2 can be counted as ta-ka; groups of 3 can be counted as ta-ka-di; groups of 4 can be counted as ta-ka-di-mi. Combine these in many and various ways to make different groupings and imply accents where you need them with "ta" as the emphasis or the strong beat.

The rhythmic chapters in my book are a pretty quick crash course in the fundamentals of Western approaches to rhythm, and your awareness and control of when you're playing and for how long.

Given To Fly likes this.
  5. HungryGuitarStudent