Bare Knuckle Suggestion

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by MetalThrasher, Sep 13, 2019 at 8:41 PM.

1. MetalThrasher

MetalThrasher Thrash & Burn

I'm going to replace the bridge pickup in my Schecter C1 Apocalypse with a floyd. It has a swamp ash body with a set maple neck. I've never tried a BK before so I'm clueless on which ones would suite me. I play thrash metal with the guitar tuned to D standard through a 6505 and Mark V. My goto pickup is usually a Duncan SH5 if this helps.

2. Zhysick

Zhysick SS.org Regular

And you are looking for a sound similar to the SH5? If that's the case then check out the Cold Sweat if you want it tight or the Nailbomb if you want it a bit boomy in the lows and bigger sounding.

3. teqnick

teqnick The only person that liked the new Faceless album

From my exp w/ BKP, you'd be surprised with how the vintage models excel in high gain territory. I would highly suggest considering something such as the mule, or black dog.

4. Alex79

Alex79 SS.org Regular

Nailbomb!

Pick either alnico or ceramic to suit the instrument.

5. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire pet kitties, spend fiddies

thrash? through a mark you say? Holy diver. Works great for thrashy riffage or whatever you throw at it ime. It may be a tad bright in swamp ash but not as bad as a nailbomb would be on the high end ime.
    This one is more "old school" sounding but you'll get the point:
    https://www.mediafire.com/file/5u6vq66jwoqpj1p/Hdiver_Mk3_thrash2.flac/file
    this one is also a a mishmash of riffs but a bit more modern sounding:
    https://www.mediafire.com/file/jnlvdv3tmjpcnpk/Hdiver_javelin_Mk3_medley.flac/file

Last edited: Sep 15, 2019 at 7:15 AM
  6. Emperoff

Emperoff Hasta la vista, Baby Contributor

I'd say the Ragnarok will be a good match for those bright woods.

If you're not dead set on BKP, the Lundgren "The One" will probably be a great match for that guitar. It's kinda a more refined Warpig.

7. MetalThrasher