Axe fx help, tuning issue.

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Nialzzz, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi there folks, I was hoping someone could help me out. My rack tuner recently gave up the ghost and I've reverted back to using my ultra to tune, only thing is; it is pretty bad for tuning my eight... I can tune to the top 6 to standard and have to do my 7th and 8th by ear.

    Not a problem at home, but live... This sucks ass.

    I'm quite anal about the way my rig is cabled and I've recently dropped all my pedal board stuff minus the columbus for my diezel and my midi controller for the axe fx.

    I can't be bothered moving to the Boss TU-2 to get it going. I've not got the space in my rack.

    Can someone help we with the calibration of my ultra, I've searched about and cannot find any direction on this?

    It's not even on the fractal wiki site.
     
  2. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    8,108
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Le Mans, France
    Axe fx tuner is so-so with lower tunings, I also use it to record bass and tune at the 12th fret, the tuner is hopeless otherwise.
    I do not know of any trick to correct that with some magic settings.
     
  3. Larrikin666

    Larrikin666 Deadite

    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    536
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, CA
    If it's really bugging you, then you could hit your 12th fret harmonic and tune that way on your lower strings. I've never had that issue though.
     
  4. Sepultorture

    Sepultorture Murder Machine

    Messages:
    5,030
    Likes Received:
    192
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Location:
    Oshawa, ON, Canada
    me thinks Fractal needs to jump on this issue and get that sorted, been using peterson strobo software tuner, works like tits
     
  5. technomancer

    technomancer Gearus Pimptasticus Super Moderator

    Messages:
    27,919
    Likes Received:
    8,024
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Out there, somewhere
    The only issue I had when I had my Ultra was the low F# or E on the 8 string I had. The 7th string never gave me any problems tuned to B or A :scratch:

    As for Peterson I'd be using their software is it worked on a version of OS X that was less than 2 years old... seriously they have versions for iPhone and iPad but not a version I can run on my damn computer :wallbash:
     
  6. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    I have to be honest and say I'm shocked at that. The amount of people that use Axe-Fx's with ERG's. ha. Is there not a way with the calibration as it allows you to change that, I'm not clued up enough and so, I've left that alone.

    Couldn't agree more my man.

    Is this Peterson equipment not really expensive? I've heard very good things about it, but as a platform to tuning guitar I can't say I'm overly keen to spend much money.

    I think it may also be down to the tuning I have the 8 at; I tune it as a dropped 7 and pop the 8th on too; EAEADGBE. i'll try the harmonic tuning, let's just hope that my guitars intonation is perfect. haha.
     
  7. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    8,108
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Le Mans, France
    Well, honestly, with what the axe-fx, whether G1 or G2, brings to the table, I don't care if the tuner isn't very good. ^^
     
  8. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland

    I kind of know what you mean, at the same time it seems a strange thing to miss spending time getting right. When you consider how incredible the system is and what it can do, it's just seems strange to me.

    It's everything I could want in a rig and yet it seems when there is one small thing I need, it's the one thing that doesn't turn up with the goods.
     
  9. petereanima

    petereanima Br00tal Bubbly Mofo

    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    773
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austria
    This is relevant to my interests.

    If I know need an additional racktuner also, not only is my touring rack now useless (4U: 2U Axe, 1U poweramp, 1U Furman) because i would need a 5U rack now...but also I'm not willing to pay EUR 350 for a racktuner.
     
  10. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    Don't worry about that buddy. Are you going to run a pedalboard with your rig?

    Just drop the old faithful boss TU-2 in there and you've not made your current rig redundant.

    I bought more space in my rack than I needed deliberately, just so I could future-proof myself.

    DUDE, you've got a Diezel Herbert too!!! I hardly know anyone on here with a herbert other than me. RESPECT!
     
  11. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
  12. JPMike

    JPMike Totally Random

    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA - Athens, Greece
    Korg DTR-1000, I think can do it.

    I got 1U space left for it.
     
  13. Nialzzz

    Nialzzz The Perseus Veil

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    I would advise it man, it's a good bit of kit and should last a good while (disregard my broken unit) unless you are silly with your power distribution. ha. Seeing as you have your furman it'll probably stand the test of time.
     
  14. petereanima

    petereanima Br00tal Bubbly Mofo

    Messages:
    5,059
    Likes Received:
    773
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austria
    Yeah, USUALLY I have my pedalboard, and there is the good old TU2 on it of course. The thing is: If everything works as I want to work (my Axe still ahsnt arrived, tough I Ordered in January..) - I would have wanted the Axe+Poweramp as touring rig, just to save the very limited space we have in the van. I have already a 4U rack, so it would have been awesome If I could have used it...


    :metal: Yeah man, the Herbert is THE amp for me, I have it for over 3 years now, and I am still in love as on the first day. Soooo amazing...
     
  15. Luppin

    Luppin SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Are you sure that you don't just have barely usable tension on your lower strings? The Axe-FX supports the use of a bass so I would assume that the tuner would AT LEAST support standard bass tuning, which would include Drop E on an 8 string guitar
     
  16. maccayoung

    maccayoung SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    I use the neck pickup with the 12th fret harmonic if I'm using the 8 string and tuning on the Ultra.
     

Share This Page