Apartment Rig, Too many options

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Zulu_Twenty, May 6, 2020.

1. Zulu_Twenty

Zulu_Twenty SS.org Regular

Hello everyone, long time lurker finally joined.

I started playing guitar again after couple of years and want to "upgrade" my rig so to speak, im getting a second guitar also.

I'm strict bedroom player with no gigging aspirations, i also don't record and such.Just playing along with songs i like.(Children of bodom, Trivium etc)

I live in a apartment so need a setup that can deliver metal tones at low levels.I have read prob. hundreds of threads about the subject and there seems to be two camp, go modeling or low power tubes can sound great at low sound levels.

My current setup is Behringer V-Ampire and EHX Metal Muff.I use the amp bypass option on the amp.

My options and prices as below(Its expensive here);

Helix Stomp + Studio Monitors 980$

Mooer GE200 + Studio Monitors 630$

Engl Gigmaster 15 Head + 1x12 Cab 830$ (558$ Used)

Blackstar HT-5 Metal Head + 1x12 Cab 560$

Boss Katana 50/100 420$

My draw to these tube amps are i dont tweak my tone too much , dont use effects so i can have couple of good tones instead of hundreds of so so ones.Am i wrong?Or modeler will still have the edge when playing in the room?

Does HX Stomp worth the premium over Mooer if i only care about the distortion tones i get form it?Delay while switching effects etc dont bother me.Id rather not spend that much.

Blackstars Metal Head seems like a good option(more suited for metal compared to regular ht-5) but cant try them as all shops are closed here.

Is the Katana overrated, i remember not liking Roland Cubes.If we only care about the hi-gain stuff is it meh?

Any experience with Engl gigmaster?Some say its not modern sounding?It has watt selection too so seems promising.

Sorry for rambling, just option paralysis and not being able to try them made me confused :D

Thanks!

2. laxu

laxu SS.org Regular