Anybody have a job you love?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Mason Bruce, May 15, 2014.

1. Mason Bruce

Mason Bruce Active Member

Curious to see what it is, why you love it, and how you got it.

2. Grand Moff Tim

Grand Moff Tim Some call me... Tim

Yes and no. I'm a teacher, and I love the idea of being a teacher, but I don't always enjoy my job. Sometimes it's great, but sometimes it's awful, because children are objectively terrible.

3. Edika

Edika SS.org Regular

Yes I love my job but I'm only at it for a year and don't know how I'll feel about it in 5 years from now. I'm an RnD engineer in a multinational company. I get to do applied research and actually see the fruits of my and my colleagues labor into fruition in relatively short time. So I get to use science and see the application quite fast. As a person that gets bored easily and that doesn't like things to drag along too much it's a much preferred environment than working at a University. Less freedom than a University but more structure and focus. Also no teaching because it isn't that much better at this level due to those terrible children Grand_Moff_Tim mentioned, becoming half baked adults that they are exiting puberty.
    How I got the job, after years of studying and doing various menial jobs to support myself, with a small break in grad school where I had a rather good scholarship for my PhD, and having numerous rejections from various positions I applied, I honed my acting skills quite well to convince the people at the company I work now that I can do the job I knew already I could, over other candidates with similar if not better qualifications than me. It helped that I'm a likeable person :).

4. Force

Force Jackson Addict

Love is a strong word but I'm quite happy where I am now.